A Beggar’s Christmas

After retiring to Florida some years ago, we discovered Christmas here is as jolly as any we enjoyed up north, enveloped by snow.  And it’s especially joyous when our grandchildren come to visit.

One evening during our Christmas gathering, we went out to dinner—my wife, our daughter and her husband, and three of our grandchildren.  We’d spent the afternoon shopping at a large, festive mall, and were looking forward to enjoying the cheer of the season and the pleasure of each other’s company.

During dinner, we talked of our plans for the holiday.  Unlike the north, where tobogganing, skating, snowball fights, and warm fires were the order of the day, in Florida, the beach, the pool, and the golf course were all on the agenda.  We were looking forward to an old-fashioned holiday with lots of singing, plenty of fresh air and exercise, good food, and family to enjoy the tree with.

By the time we finished dinner, sharing our happy plans, we were feeling very fine—warm, full, comfortable.  We left the restaurant, chatting amiably, and began the walk back to the parking lot.  At the intersection, with its flashing green and red traffic lights adding to the merry Christmas air, we were accosted by a stranger.  He meant us no harm, but his sudden approach startled us. 

Tall and thin, face jutting from under a receding hairline, his beard was unkempt, his eyes red and rheumy.  He wore faded jeans, tattered and patched, and an old, blue sweatshirt with the collar turned up.  The children huddled behind their parents, afraid of such an apparition.

When he spoke to me, I could hardly hear him in the hum of the passing traffic.  He mumbled through that scraggly beard, through missing teeth, his words coming in disjointed phrases.  He was clutching a misspelled sign on a scrap of corrugated cardboard claiming to be a disabled veteran.

“No, sorry,” I muttered, watching for the green light allowing us to escape, and we walked away, slightly embarrassed, but relieved to leave him behind.

“Who was that guy, Daddy?” one of the kids asked her father.

“Did he wanna hurt us?” another chimed in.

Their parents reassured them he had meant no harm.  He was just a man asking for money.

“Is he sick, Mummy?  Will he be alright?”

None of us could really answer.

At the car, we clambered in silently, each of us lost in our thoughts.  As I drove back through the intersection, the beggar was still on the corner, huddling around himself, approaching passers-by.  He looked pathetic and utterly alone, and I hoped he didn’t see me staring at him.

Later that night, after everyone was in bed, I thought of him again, and at first, I chastised myself for not giving him something to help.  From somewhere, the scrap of a Bible verse teased a corner of my mind—Whatsoever ye do to the least of these, ye do also to me

But then, I rationalized that a token from me would not likely have helped.  He was obviously past the point where a solitary handout was going to make much of a difference.  He’d probably have wasted whatever we might have given him on booze or drugs, I told myself self-righteously.  At one point, I got angry that he had put me in such an uncomfortable position.

Still, underneath it all, I felt a nagging guilt.  ‘Tis the season to care for one’s fellow-creatures; yet I, so full of the Christmas spirit, had walked away.  Because I was fearful, because I hadn’t known how to respond…or because I didn’t care. 

Was it right to have ignored him and walked on?  Would it have been better to have given something, in the spirit of Christmas and with hope it would have helped?  I didn’t know.

But as I think about it now, almost a year later—sitting warm and safe at home at the onset of another Christmas season, surrounded by people who love me—I wonder where that stranger is and whether he’s okay.

And I believe I know now what I should have done.

© J. Bradley Burt 2023

About talebender

A retired principal, superintendent, and school district director of education, I am a graduate of York University and the Ryerson School of Journalism. I have published eleven novels and nine anthologies of tales, all of which may be found in both paperback and e-book formats on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.  A free preview of the books, and details regarding purchase, may be found at this safe site--- http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/precept. I live with my wife in Ontario and Florida, where I'm at work on a twelfth novel and a tenth collection of tales.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Beggar’s Christmas

  1. Sallyhp says:

    I love the way in which you share a complicated struggle with conscience and the gray area of right vs wrong in this scenario. It clearly inspired others to want to share their own struggles with this issue. I want to share mine with you. I lived in NYC 1978-1985, a bad time for the city and the growing numbers of unhoused people during that time. I encountered dozens of needy, desperate, mentally ill people on my daily commute from Spanish Harlem to NYU, many with stories to tell. I worried about it, as you did, and soon realized that I was unwilling to sit in judgment on each individual and their story to determine their worth. I resolved that I had to instead treat all equally, regardless. But how to do this? As a grad student working my way through NYU by typing others’ papers, I didn’t have much to spare. But because I had decided that everyone must be treated the same, my math said I could maybe manage five cents for each person I encountered in a day if I cut corners in my own meager budget. But then I realized that handing someone a nickel could make a mentally unstable person angry, perhaps enough to try to hurt me. So, my answer to the debate had to be nothing for anyone, without judgment. I felt a little better that I had at least arrived at my decision through deliberation based on a wish to be fair. I found that I could live with it. I did break my rule once when an unhoused man yelled at me “I’m so hungry!” as I was getting on the subway. Without thinking, I handed him the milkshake I’d just bought for my lunch, surprising even myself. The subway doors closed and I saw him standing on the platform, contemplating the milkshake. And then I was in the tunnel, hurtling toward my life.

    Like

    • talebender says:

      Thanks for the kind words! Your experience would make a fine story, too…..even if elaborated upon, as I am wont to do! These moral dilemmas confront us all the time, and I think the important thing is we have to come to terms with ourselves in how we deal with them…..the old ‘facing the person in the mirror’ thing.

      I bet he drank the milkshake!

      Brad Defend those who are absent. Check out my stories and new book releases at: https://tallandtruetales.blog Twitter: @talebender

      Like

    • talebender says:

      Thanks for the kind words! Your scenario would make a great story, too…even with some elaboration…..which I am wont to do.
      I’ll bet the guy enjoyed the milkshake!

      Like

Leave a comment