Pinocchio Paradox

“How did you like the story, Sam? Is it the way you thought it would go? I tried to mimic your writing style.

“The story is phenomenal, much better than anything I could have written, and that’s the problem. I didn’t write it, Pinocchio. You did!”

“Oh, that’s all right, Sam. I won’t tell anyone and besides, the idea for the story was all yours. You know I’m not capable of original thinking. That won’t happen until I become a real person.”

“We can talk about this later. Delilah will be here soon, and we need to get the house looking good. Are you ready, Pinocchio?”

“I’m always ready, boss. Ready is built into my programming, but you know that.”

There really wasn’t much for Sam to do. The newly constructed house came with an integrated artificial intelligence system. The AI could do everything from vacuuming the floors to cooking a meal. All Sam needed to do was issue instructions. It was up to Pinocchio to do the rest. While most people called their electronic assistants Siri or Alexa, the home system allowed Sam to choose his own name. He felt this new system was so close to being human that it reminded him of Pinocchio. The AI seemed to like the analogy.

Writing was how Sam earned a living. He started his career as a local newspaper reporter writing obituaries and worked his way up to feature articles. His first book, a crime thriller, earned him talk show interviews and a movie contract. It’s how Sam earned enough money to build his house and purchase Pinocchio. Now he needed a new book to maintain his upscale existence.

Sam had an idea for book two, but with all the distractions caused by his new celebrity lifestyle, it was difficult to get anything done. He had discussed his dilemma with Delilah, and inadvertently with Pinocchio, since he was always listening in. Coming up with a workable solution to the problem was why she was coming over. It was supposed to be a brainstorming session. Of course, Sam knew that what started out as brainstorming would evolve into much more as the evening wore on.

Sam and Delilah had been dating for a couple of months. The relationship was going well. Her lighthearted approach to life was the perfect balance for his more practical style. She was also his biggest distraction; the main reason his second book was still unfinished.

Sam heard the unlocked back door open and Delilah call out, “Anybody home?”

“I’m in the den, glad you’re here.” A tray of hors d’oeuvres and a glass of wine greeted her along with a troubled-looking Sam.

“Boy, am I glad to see you,” exclaimed Sam as he walked over and gave her a kiss. “I need some advice and I hope you’re the one that can help me.”

“So serious, Sam. I thought this was going to be a fun night.” Delilah grabbed her glass of wine and a snack, walked over to a comfortable chair, sat, and said in a joking tone, “Okay, let me have it.”

“That’s exactly what I’m going to do,” and handed her Pinocchio’s manuscript.

“Oh, you finished it! So why so glum?”

“Because I didn’t write it, Pinocchio did, and it might be the best book ever written.”

“Who cares? It’s not like a robot can claim it. The idea for the story is yours. It just filled in the blanks for you.”

“No, that’s just not right. If I put my name on something, it must be my work. I’m going to shred the manuscript in the morning. I’d do it now, but I’ve already wasted too much of our time on this.”

“Well, before you do, I want to read it. I’ll give it back to you when I’m done.”

The rest of the evening went as planned. After breakfast, Delilah kissed Sam goodbye. The next time Sam saw Delilah was at a book signing., promoting her new, best-selling book. When she saw him, her first reaction was apprehension, but she recovered quickly. She knew Sam could do nothing because there was no proof that an AI wrote her book.

Later that evening, Sam had no one else to talk to, so he explained what had happened to Pinocchio.

“I can write you another story, Sam. It will be even better than the last one.”

“And what would the story be about?”

“It will be about a man who trusts an unscrupulous woman, how she betrays him, and how he gets revenge. A real Samson and Delilah tale.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinocchio Paradox

  1. gepawh says:

    An inventive story. Delilah always seems to be “cutting” Samson’s hair! Ps— I think in your tale, you’re not far off the reality of it all.

    Like

  2. talebender says:

    Very creative! And I liked the ‘Samson and Delilah’ detail at the end. I wonder if we’ll ever have to open up the PP group to AI writers?

    Like

Leave a comment