Peace of Mind

It’s Wednesday April 26 and I arrive at the Freedom Boat club marina in Venice to take out Pisces, a 22 foot Catalina Sailboat.  I have never been out of this Marina and when I registered to reserve the boat a hard stop came up on computer that I wasn’t authorized for the gulf and needed to call Marina. I thought I would need to get training to get Gulf certification, after all I am a novice sailor.   I have taken the same 22 ft Catalina out of Burnt Store and Laishley park 78 times but now those marinas do not have sailboats as a result of the Hurricane.  Even though I am able to keep the boat afloat, I am by no means anything more than a novice.  Much to my surprise, at my request they gave me Gulf certification.  Since I have never sailed on the Gulf, I am a little anxious.  When I think of the gulf, I think of 3-5 foot waves, winds at 10 mph, my lack of sailing knowledge.  Usually the people I bring on the boat have no experience whatsoever, they just want a boat ride.  Am I exposing myself to a challenge that may be beyond my capability? I always seem to stretch my abilities. 

I motor on out of the harbor to the magnificent open water. I look up at the top of the mast and there is no wind vane telling me the direction of the wind. Being a novice sailor I now have to figure out the wind direction to hoist the sails into the wind.

Most sailors look at the water and can immediately know the direction of the wind.  For me, it is not intuitive.  I take a guess,  raise the main sail, let out the jib, and the boat is ready, but the problem or luck is no wind.  This is the first time I have been on a sailboat in 2 years. Actually I let out a sigh of relief as I don’t have to worry about my lack of seamanship.

Today, being on the water, amid the quiet of the waters is, for me, the best place to truly capture and enjoy piece of mind. My mind wonders and I think of fun times in the past, I think about the many relationships I have had over the years, I think about how lucky I am to be healthy and financially comfortable enough to live life to its fullest without money worries, I think about where my next excursion may take me, and again how truly lucky I am that today there is little wind.  Most true sailors would not be happy with this weather, but I was ecstatic I did not have to keep my hand on the mainsail rope in case a gust of wind came along, I did not have to think about which way to shift the rudder to prevent tipping over too far, I didn’t have to think about releasing the jib in a hurry, all I needed to do was appreciate being on the water, take pride in my courage to go on the Gulf with minimal sailing expertise, and enjoy the calm seas.  It was a great day on the water.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Peace of Mind

  1. gepawh says:

    One can feel the freedom/peace on the wide open ocean.

    Like

Leave a comment