Deadlines

I’m stopped at the intersection of Treeline and Colonial Boulevard thinking of turning left. Sound familiar? If not, try it at 7:30 Monday morning.

The traffic line is stopped dead, like in a dead line.

After safely home 2 hours later I made some phone calls to pay bills and make a reservation for a Resturant down town. My last call was to an insurance company to check on my claim for a roof replacement caused by the most recent hurricane. After listening to static filled Gershwin music my line went dead. Another sort of dead line.

I was musing about my distant past as an Alter Boy while sipping my Starbucks French Roast with todays Wall Street Journal nearby. A story about the passing of an unknown “celebrity” was mentioned on page five. I served at the funeral Mass of many deceased parish members and then went to the Cemetary in a long line of cars. A dead line again, of a morbid sort.

As a retiree of nearly 20 years the idea of a “deadline” in the usual sense during my working life has become foggy at best and behind an opaque cloud most of the time. What on earth are you talking about? I can wait forever if I want.

“I’m sorry,Sue”, I told my wife just this morning, I have a deadline to meet before I attend the writers group at 2:00 PM sharp, Today. Whew. I made the deadline. The first one made in awhile.

About calumetkid

Born in 1943, Calumet, Michigan. Love baseball, trains, chess, Lake Superior, the Law. State Trooper, Lawyer, Retired.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Deadlines

  1. talebender says:

    Some excellent examples of ‘dead lines’, ones many of us will recognize, and hope to avoid.

    Like

Leave a comment