Immovable

“No! Absolutely no way am I moving into one of those warehouses for old people waiting to die. Not at this stage of my life.”

“But dad, you’re not as strong as you used to be, and the doctor said it would be for the best. All we want is for you to be taken care of.”

“Damn money-grubbing doctors! You and your brother don’t get it. Your mother and I built this place from the ground up. It has more than just monetary value to me. You can sell it when I’m gone, but until then, I’m staying put. Besides, I have friends here and things I’m involved in. Why would I want to give all that up to live in a smelly nursing home?”

A single tear slid down her cheek. “Dad, if nothing else, you always have been unreasonably stubborn, but I love you anyway. I have to go now, but at least look at the brochures I’ve collected. These places aren’t what you think.”

“Okay, okay, I’ll look at them, but that’s all I’ll do. I love you too, kid! Be careful out there.”

Immediately after his daughter left, the old man placed his left arm back in the homemade sling. He hoped it was only sprained from the fall he had earlier that morning. He knew he was in life’s last stage, but wasn’t ready to give in yet. He walked to the coffee table and picked up the brochures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Immovable

  1. gepawh says:

    One feels his resistance, and her sadness as well.

    Like

  2. talebender says:

    Love the way you used dialogue here…..no confusion as to who was speaking and to whom. Good story, too!

    Like

Leave a comment