Pleasant Valley Road

I started my ride at the intersection where Pleasant Valley Road begins.  A long bright inviting road.  I began with spurts of uneven motion, powered by a new engine and a full tank.  Before long I sped past a school spilling over with both laughter and strict lessons.

I passed the college and almost immediately heard bells ringing.  The imposing shadow of a large church altered the look of the road.  There was some rice still visible on the sidewalk, reminders of a joyful ceremony. 

The road before me had many lanes.  There were opportunities to pass others, yet some passed me by, too.  There were high-energy bright lights everywhere.  Lining the street where signs promising thrills and entertainment on a side road.  I moved anxiously ahead, powered by a strong engine and plenty of fuel. 

I saw a park on my right.  Grown men playing a game with purpose and resolve.

I entered a hospital zone.  It was hard not to take notice of a huge sign reading “maternity ward”.  Ahead was another hospital, and then surprisingly a third.  I moved swiftly ahead, powered by a steady engine and ample fuel. 

The next section of the road was pleasant.  Similar sites repeating on each block, each intersection had familiar look and feel.  There was a string of similar homes along the road.  Many are decorated for special occasions. It went on for a great distance.   I moved steadily ahead, powered by a reliable engine and sufficient fuel. 

Gradually the road narrowed.  Ahead a sign suggested a slower pace.  I begrudgingly acquiesced.  My engine sputtered a bit but still sounded fine when idling.  I was quite sure the fuel was running low. 

I stopped by the sign that read “dead end”.  What a pleasant and fine ride it was.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Pleasant Valley Road

  1. talebender says:

    A terrific allegorical tale, touching on so many mileposts that many of us have also experienced. Well done!

    Like

Leave a comment