When I Grow Up

I often wonder who I’ll be
When I grow up.  Will I be me?
Or shall I soon be someone new?
To tell the truth, I have no clue.
I can’t imagine staying the same---
The little boy who bears my name---
But exactly who I will become,
I must admit, confounds me some.

I heard the dreams shared by my friend
Who talked of roads that never end,
Of places he would surely go,
Meeting people he’s yet to know,
A grand adventure on his own.
But I’m not sure that being alone
Like that would be the best for me,
‘Cause I’m not sure yet who I’ll be.

I ponder possibilities,
Wondering which of them might please
The man I hope to be someday,
The man who’ll take me on my way.
Yet still I seem to hesitate,
I still delay, procrastinate,
Put off the choices I must make
To be that man, for goodness sake.

So I often wonder who I’ll be
When I grow up.  Will I be me?
You’d think I’d have some thoughts by now,
Ideas as to when and how
I’ll figure out just who I’ll be
When I grow up.  It’s time, you see,
To make a choice while I’m alive.
For after all, I’m ninety-five!
© J. Bradley Burt 2022

About talebender

A retired principal, superintendent, and school district director of education, I am a graduate of York University and the Ryerson School of Journalism. I have published eleven novels and nine anthologies of tales, all of which may be found in both paperback and e-book formats on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.  A free preview of the books, and details regarding purchase, may be found at this safe site--- http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/precept. I live with my wife in Ontario and Florida, where I'm at work on a twelfth novel and a tenth collection of tales.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment