Monolith

(This is my Florida weekly submission for the picture Patti posted)

My body felt as though it had been slowly baked on hot tiles. Pain forced my reluctant brain to reengage with the world. The unrelenting sun’s rays penetrated my closed eyelids. I grudgingly opened one eye just a slit and saw it—the monolith from 2001: A Space Odyssey. Inside my sluggish brain, the title song from that movie, “Also Sprach Zarathustra”, began playing. It’s a tune that will repeat itself over and over in my head for the rest of the day. Most annoying!

Slowly, and with great concentration, I moved one hand over my forehead to create some shade from the blinding sun. Grit fell from my fingers, stinging my already suffering eyeballs. That was the last straw. I forced my protesting body into a sitting position. The movie soundtrack in my head paused momentarily because my brain was spinning faster than a centrifuge. It wasn’t easy, but I beat down the nausea, at least for now, and took stock of my surroundings.

The grit covering my body came from the floor of a rooftop patio that overlooked the distant ocean. I had apparently spent the night comatose under the stars. The muffled sloshing sound in my ears was generated by the incoming tide. I must have slept out here all night because not only was every muscle in my back aching, but any exposed skin was peppered with mosquito bites. As I continued to scan my surroundings, I saw my shirt drifting on a sea breeze heading toward the water. My mind said, “Go after it,” but my body replied, “No way.” Next, I spotted my flip-flops partially hidden behind a flower pot. Finally, I was relieved to see that I was still wearing my cargo shorts. The only thing I couldn’t find was that damn monolith. The aliens who placed it here must have come and retrieved it.

I almost convinced myself of that scenario when a gust of wind caught a towel hanging limply on the clothesline above my head, forcing it to flap wildly. What my alcohol-infused brain had first thought was the massive “Stargate Sentinel” waiting to take me deep into space, was nothing more than a normal-sized spring-loaded clothespin.

I was both disappointed and relieved. I had always wanted to explore space and go where no man has gone before, but I didn’t want to do it shirtless, wearing only cargo shorts and flip-flops. The swish of a sliding door behind me caught my attention while I was attempting to stand.

“Dude! Did you spend the night out here? You must have really been wasted. Why were you staring at that towel, anyway?”

I thought about explaining the whole monolith vision to him, but simply replied, “Just trying to get my head on straight.”

If there is one take-away I have from this experience, it’s this: Never party with people who will abandon you on a rooftop patio to sleep it off. Once again, the music in my head resumed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monolith

  1. talebender says:

    Hilarious! I’ve never actually done that, and now I hope I never will!
    Loved the movie, though.

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    An interesting story. I agree about being abandoned on a rooftop— but oddly enough, it also fits into the act of kindness prompt. They kindly left you to your dreams! As Patti mentioned, great descriptions.

    Like

  3. Wow. How interesting to have such different takes on the same picture. Really good depiction of a hangover.

    Like

Leave a comment