Tick, Tick, Tick

Each tick commanded my attention in this silent room. Tick, tick, tick. The clock stood confidently on the mantle of the brick fireplace. The heartbeat of the clock was strong. With each click the second hand advanced  a notch with an almost inaudible clunk. I wish I could stop it but it moved relentlessly forward. Soon it would be midnight.

I sipped my Cabernet which sat to my right on the heavy, wood side table. The table fit well with the dark wood paneling and heavy deep red drapes. The Tiffany lamp that sat watch with the Cabernet goblet reflected the refinement and solemnity of the moment.

My fate was sealed. We have no control, really. I know I can’t turn the clock back. Tick, tick, tick. Of course, it’s easy to reflect on the past and wonder, “what if”. With a different path I may have been more prosperous. With a different path I may have escaped injuries. With a different path I may have made momentous discoveries. Tick, tick, tick.

The Cabernet sloshed slowly around the edges of the goblet. I gently rotated the glass. The dark red liquid slid back towards the center leaving a light, rose colored feature on the glass which faded as the wine retreated. A few tiny air bubbles popped up in the swirling. I slowly sipped the nectar. As it massaged my tiny taste buds my mind heard soft music playing a familiar tune. A sense of joy flowed over my body. Tick, tick, tick.The second hand approached 12 for its final pass. 41, 42, 43 … Tick, tick, tick. 

The doctor turned to the family gathered about and nodded. The family lowered their heads in prayer or contemplation. She speculated, “I wonder what his last thoughts are- he seemed to smile a bit”. Then he stepped forward and he leaned over to kiss me on the forehead, noting “He had a very good run”. The respirator was turned off at midnight as planned. 

Tick … The Tiffany lamp flickered, dimmed and darkened with his final thoughts, “Yes,  it was a very good run”.

About leeroc3

I am a psychologist by trade. I enjoy excursions into the mind. I have only written professional reports and research articles in the past. I find the freedom to explore and investigate through writing to be exhilarating. An even greater challenge is to learn to work with technology. I will attempt to please the electronic Gods and enter the world of the future. Many of my writings have already focused on the tensions we face in a changing world. Good luck to us all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tick, Tick, Tick

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    I am hoping that the end is this peaceful….you make it seem rather inviting!!

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    Despite the darkness, and sadness, the beat (tick) goes on, one way or another.

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    Ah, that it should be so peaceful…..a very soothing end to it all.

    Like

Leave a comment