Pooh and I

Way, way back, at the earliest, foggy frontiers of my memories, I was given a storybook from my spinster aunt.  Entitled Winnie-the-Pooh, it was my introduction to literature, and to the wonderful world of reading.

I couldn’t read the stories myself, of course, not then, but I spent countless happy hours having them read to me, cozy on the couch in front of a warming fire. 

To this day, I remember my aunt’s husky voice speaking for the various characters, her uninhibited laughter at the situations they found themselves in, her warm breath on my cheek as we avidly devoured the pages.  Given her happiness during those times we spent together, it would have been impossible for me to grow up not loving the joys of reading.

It occurred to me recently that the values and attitudes I grew up with, and have clarified and refined during adulthood, were first suggested by the allegoric tales of Pooh and his friends.  To that end, these statements still ring true

When you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you think of Things, you find sometimes that a Thing which seemed very Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out into the open and has other people looking at it.

A little consideration, a little thought for others, makes all the difference.

What’s wrong with knowing what you know now and not knowing what you don’t know until later?

Pooh and his friends seemed always on the cusp of a figurative adventure, which appealed to me as a child, and which continues to motivate me into old age.  A partial list of chapter headings clearly illustrates their spirit—

In Which Pooh and Piglet Go Hunting and Nearly Catch a Woozle,

In Which Piglet Meets a Heffalump, and

In Which Christopher Robin Leads an Expotition to the North Pole.

The metaphoric spirit of Milne’s stories, which he originally wrote for his own son, can also be seen in these observations—

You can’t stay in your corner of the Forest waiting for others to come to you. You have to go to them sometimes.

Before beginning a Hunt, it is wise to ask someone what you are looking for before you begin looking for it.

If the string breaks, then we try another piece of string.

If it’s not Here, that means it’s out There.

Rivers know this: There is no hurry. We shall get there some day.

I particularly love that last one.

Perhaps the two greatest symbolic attributes I learned from these stories, the ones that underlie all the others, are the gift of friendship and the joy of love for one another

It’s so much more friendly with two.

It isn’t much good having anything exciting, if you can’t share it with somebody.

I think we dream so we don’t have to be apart for so long.  If we’re in each other’s dreams, we can be together all the time.

If there ever comes a day when we can’t be together, keep me in your heart; I’ll stay there forever.

Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.

Some people care too much.  I think it’s called love.

Love is taking a few steps backward, maybe even more, to give way to the happiness of the person you love.

How lucky am I to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.

I cherish that final thought, even while knowing I have never had to say goodbye to Winnie the Pooh.

Among my favourite recollections of those books, beyond the stories themselves, were the illustrations—pen-and-ink drawings lovingly composed by E. H. Shepard. In my mind’s eye, I see many of them still, though I have not cracked the covers of those books since I last shared them with my own infant daughters.

There is one I love more than any other, a picture of Christopher Robin and Pooh coming down the stairs together, and I still hear my aunt’s hearty guffaws as she read the accompanying plea from Pooh-— 

If possible, try to find a way to come downstairs that doesn’t involve going bump, bump, bump on the back of your head. 

Winnie the Pooh was my first and abiding friend.

© J. Bradley Burt 2021

About talebender

A retired principal, superintendent, and school district director of education, I am a graduate of York University and the Ryerson School of Journalism. I have published eleven novels and nine anthologies of tales, all of which may be found in both paperback and e-book formats on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.  A free preview of the books, and details regarding purchase, may be found at this safe site--- http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/precept. I live with my wife in Ontario and Florida, where I'm at work on a twelfth novel and a tenth collection of tales.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pooh and I

  1. talebender says:

    Thank you! Who says kid-lit can’t be great lit?

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    Tender words that powerfully describe the blessing your “spinster” aunt was! You had me at “foggy frontiers of my mind” what a great descriptive thought!
    Anyone who reads your words, both here and elsewhere, see this impact has lasted forever. I am reminded of a quote from another book of old: “ as the twig is bent, the tree shall grow!” You did a fantastic job of bringing this experience of that day, to us, this day! Well Done!

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    I agree with your idea that too many don’t know how to communicate today, especially on the listening side. A.A. Milne was a very astute observer of life.
    Thanks for commenting.

    Like

  4. Wow. Haven’t thought of Pooh and company in decades. I like, “If the string breaks, then we try another piece of string.” Now, that’s adventure.

    I was struck with “you find sometimes that a Thing which seemed very Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out into the open and has other people looking at it.” This is the basis for communication. Common definitions. The late senator and linguist S. I. Hayakawa wrote “Language in Thought and Action” in 1939 (last published in 1991). He used Bessie the Cow to convey that Cow 1 is not Cow 2. Every thing is different. In order to understand one another, we need to know that Thing 1 is not Thing 2. I think today’s world is filled with Eeyores who don’t know how to communicate. That’s sad.

    Like

  5. Teresa Kaye says:

    I like that you describe a literary character as your first best friend! Pooh was one of my favorites too. I can visualize you and your aunt ‘avidly devouring the pages’! The Pooh stories would be good ones to read with grandchildren under your willow tree!!

    Like

    • talebender says:

      I was fortunate enough to read many of those same stories to my grandchildren, but not under the willow, alas. Funny how my favourite literary characters are all fantasy—Pooh, Pogo, Frodo Baggins…
      Thanks for the comments.

      Like

Leave a comment