A HOBSON CHOICE

When I die I want to die alone
no maudlin sounds no weepy eyes
bygone voice of yesteryear
Funeral dirge baneful riffs
eulogy to soothe
I die alone

The place it does not matter to me 
a time is not my choice to choose 
The way to go is my prize 
refuse to share the stage 
Sonneteer retire
I die alone

if you feel a need to share a song 
If you a feel need say goodbye
Do it while I stand erect 
adroitly shake my hand 
A wake be today 
I die alone 

If the afterlife you’re looking for 
will not see a hue in my eyes 
The last vison face to face 
is wrapped up in white lace 
Touch me in the box
I die alone

Michael Hutchence Elliot Smith
ended with no solo encore
Kerouac would drink to death 
on air for all to see 
finally off the road
I die alone

I disagree with the Welch poet
go gently into that good night
Nothing left or absolute
It’s nothing right or wrong
pain comes be not there
I die alone

As with the journey coming nearer
Tell me all the options betwixt 
Only Hobson Choice be plum
I’ll ride the callous vote
My choice my voyage
I die alone

About JackoRecords

Published Baby Boomer Songwriter. Heavy lyrics and prose and story telling ala Bob Dylan, Tom Petty and Jimmy Webb.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A HOBSON CHOICE

  1. gepawh says:

    Another brilliant piec!

    Like

  2. talebender says:

    The repetition at the end of each stanza is very effective. And I like what you were doing with numbers of syllables throughout. Lends a rhythm of sorts to the entirety.

    Like

  3. Interesting title that sets up the reader for the illusion of choice, and reinforces it with “I die alone.”
    I like this poem as a “funeral dirge” to poets’ “baneful riffs” on death.
    Well done.

    Like

Leave a comment