The Whole Damn Song!

I stumbled out of the bar, aching, aimless, and alone, the twangy singer’s lament echoing forlornly in my ears.

It’s not so bad when I’m lyin’ in the bedroom,

Pretendin’ that you’ll soon be home again,

It’s not so bad, that lonesome feeling in my heart, dear,

‘Though it’s a way-down-deep and lonely kind of pain.

It’s not so bad when I’m out, alone with our friends,

Tryin’ to forget you’re not with me,

It’s not so bad to stay out late at all their parties,

‘Though it’s not at all as good as it might be.

          It’s not so bad ‘til I remember all the good times,

          It’s not so bad ‘til I remember that you’re gone,

          It’s not so bad ‘til I remember how I love you,

          Then I know it’s not so good to be alone.

It’s not so bad throughout the week when I’m out workin’,

And on weekends, I stay busy…well, I try,

It’s not so bad, all those days I spend without you,

‘Though I must admit that every day I cry.

It’s not so bad, that’s what I hear myself keep sayin’,

As I spend these lonely hours feelin’ blue,

It’s not so bad to feel so bad all by myself, dear,

‘Though I must admit I’m really missing you.

          It’s not so bad ‘til I remember all the good times,

          It’s not so bad ‘til I remember that you’re gone,

          It’s not so bad ‘til I remember how I love you,

          Then I know It’s not so good to be alone…..

          Then I know It’s not so good to be alone.

© J. Bradley Burt 2021

About talebender

A retired principal, superintendent, and school district director of education, I am a graduate of York University and the Ryerson School of Journalism. I have published eleven novels and nine anthologies of tales, all of which may be found in both paperback and e-book formats on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.  A free preview of the books, and details regarding purchase, may be found at this safe site--- http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/precept. I live with my wife in Ontario and Florida, where I'm at work on a twelfth novel and a tenth collection of tales.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Whole Damn Song!

  1. pales62 says:

    Nah, Dylan… Enjoyed putting my own melody to the piece. Maybe Willie Nelson. Either way, excellent!

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    I think I can hear Elvis singing the lyrics!! Great job of describing the pain of a lost love. I think I’ve read that many of the best songs come from times like these—when the writer is quite depressed!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the repetition of “It’s not so bad” that concludes with, “Then I know It’s not so good.”
    Nice range of “way-down-deep and lonely kind of pain…Pretendin’ that you’ll soon be home again.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gepawh says:

    A real country song, or blues for sure! Nicely added.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. talebender says:

    Too drunk to drive! LOL

    Like

  6. wordsmith50 says:

    See that wasn’t so bad, but you still left out the pickup truck 🛻. Well done!

    Like

Leave a comment