THE VERNAL ASCENDANCE OF NINA

Twenty year ago, in my world, once again I inherited a blessing I could not explain or answer the question “why me.” A beautiful child entered into my life, a granddaughter we named Nina. We saw in her a perfection only a supreme being could design, whoa to the atheist that finds this all a luck of the draw and misses out on His divine design beauty of creation. 

Nina was not without her challenges. She was born with a genetic disorder called Turners Syndrome. Where most babies are born with 46 chromosomes, a Turner baby has 45. This presents a myriad of issues, ailments and problems for the growing child. Hormone treatments, numerous operations and many midnight calls from her mother with anguish and tears were a steady flow during her formable years.  Nina’s prognosis was an early transition from this life, not to live past her 16 birthday.  

But another God sent, Nina appears to all, a normal 20-year-old beautiful woman. Healthy both in mind and spirit. She’s beautiful, graceful, polite, energetic and smart. O yea, spoiled by her mother and grandparents and a staunch conservative in her political leanings. 

She earned four letters on the high school swim team, now a full-time lifeguard at the city pool, developed an engaging personality and was loved by all. To mention Nina’s name would elicited an “oh, she’s my friend” from high school mates, teachers and employers.  

When Nina was 13, she wrote this poem. It was recently found and posted on Facebook. I put a name to it and decided to share with the PPEN’s. 


                     Well Bob, I’ll tell ya
                             for me
                life has not been smooth roller coaster
                   It has twists and turns and bumps
                ups and downs, off the rail disasters
                     But I keep my hands up

            I’ve been holding on, keeping my feet in
                  facing those ups and downs
               sometimes trying not to throw up
                 But there have been no loops 

                             So Bob, 
             Don’t you throw up and quite everything
        Don’t put your hands out ‘cause you will fall out
                            Don’t let go
        I’m still going on that ride, I’m still holding on
                            and for me, 
             life has not been a smooth roller coaster
 
                                                     Nina Brookman  
                                                     (c) circa 2015

About JackoRecords

Published Baby Boomer Songwriter. Heavy lyrics and prose and story telling ala Bob Dylan, Tom Petty and Jimmy Webb.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE VERNAL ASCENDANCE OF NINA

  1. gepawh says:

    Beautiful soul, are the only words that come to mind! She exemplifies the biblical quote “ what is impossible for man is not impossible for God!” Not proselytizing, just saying! Ole Nina has a new awestruck fan!!

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    I’m glad to know more about Turner’s syndrome and Nina–thanks for sharing with us! The title is wonderful!

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    Wow, what an inspirational young woman! Your love for her, and your admiration, both shine clearly through here.

    Like

Leave a comment