THE DANCER

Pocket full of one dollar bills 

City skyline in the rearview mirror

Hands relaxed on the steering wheel

She’s relaxed with the whole damn deal
 
When I said we could talk it over

What she heard was “It’s really over”

Didn’t think how I drove her

Past the point of no return


She didn’t even cry

Packed her bags got in the car

Left a note laying on the bar

She didn’t realize

How she’d have to compromise

Now she’s dancing for someone else’s eyes


Monday morning finally came

All the faces looked the same

Didn’t know which one to blame

For her fortune or her fame

Told her mamma she spent her time

Making money on assembly line

What her mamma didn’t know was

Twenty dollars for a ten minute show


She didn’t even cry

Packed her bags got in the car

Left a note laying on the bar

She didn't realize

How she’d have to compromise

Now she’s dancing for someone else’s eyes

About JackoRecords

Published Baby Boomer Songwriter. Heavy lyrics and prose and story telling ala Bob Dylan, Tom Petty and Jimmy Webb.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE DANCER

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    There are many stories about these times and this life–I like your version and the visuals you provided and the historical setting. I wonder if any of us realize what we have to compromise??!

    Like

  2. pales62 says:

    You do it every time. I wish I knew how so I could steal some good stuff. The piece had me dancing!

    Like

  3. gepawh says:

    Fabulous song at the class. The lyrics/poem is what I describe as “raw and real! Not dissimilar to life! Good job!!

    Like

  4. I do like the Mark Knopfler backstory. Your version reminds me of a friend who survived in Honolulu in the 70s as a dance hall girl. Although I don’t think she was a private dancer, she she still calls it a sleazy gig. I agree with Brad’s comments on “dancing for someone else’s eyes.” Very well done.

    Like

  5. talebender says:

    That phrase “…dancing for someone else’s eyes” is so evocative, so sad, so pure. I enjoyed the video, too!

    Like

Leave a comment