Diddling

Writing about something fun, especially when the ideas are scarce and the words won’t flow, is always a blast. One of my go-to strategies when that happens is to write about people I know—usually disguised, so as not to give offense—as they frolic in the comedy of life.

“I used to diddle myself,” he said, slurping a spoonful of soup.

“Uncle Fred!” I hissed, shushing him, afraid diners at other tables would overhear.  “You can’t say stuff like that out loud.”

“Why not?” he said.  “I did it all the time, sometimes in front of people.  They all knew right away it was me.”

“You didn’t!” I said, as horrifying visions of men’s-room madness ran rampant through my brain.

“Used a scribbler,” he said.  “And a pencil.  No mo-beel phones back then, no selfers.  People used to say I should’ve been a cartoonerist.”

“A scribbler?” I said.  “A cartoonist? Uncle Fred, you mean you used to doodle yourself!”

That’s what I said,” he said, sipping more soup.  “Characterchers.”

“Uncle Fred, you mean caricatures,” I said, relief washing over me.

He spoke like that all the time, so I shouldn’t have been alarmed.  Ask him what he had for breakfast, for instance, and he might reply, “Broached eggs, toast, and piecemeal bacon.”

As a child, when I would visit him on a Saturday, he would cook drilled cheese sandwiches for us at lunchtime.  For dinner we might have macaretti and meatballs.

He was a master, unknowingly, of the malapropism, the substitution of an incorrect word for one sounding similar—its origin from the French mal a propos, meaning not appropriate.  The English playwright, Richard Sheridan, named one of his characters Mrs. Malaprop, and imbued her speech with countless examples.

I’m not sure my uncle ever read Sheridan, but he would probably not have recognized the errors—illegible for eligible, reprehend for comprehend, malevolence for benevolence, and so many others.

Not that he was unintelligent.  It was always a pleasure to hear him hold forth on topics of interest, never ranting or railing, simply expressing well-reasoned opinions.  He loved classical music, as do I, especially the nine tympanies of Beethoven.  He was a great baseball lover, a fan initially of the New York Spankies, and then latterly of the Toronto Blue Jades.  And he was a political junkie, always eager to discuss the follies of our elected reprehensibles.

Talking with and listening to him was ever an enjoyable experience, and unintentionally hilarious.  “Those are two beautiful, wee girls,” he told me one time, referring to my daughters.  “I hope they’ll grow up depreciating the simple things in life.” 

“Invest your money prudishly,” he would admonish me on occasion.  “Plan for your future, which is all ahead of you.  Frugality and persimmony are virtues.”

He had a host of other gems, too, all of which made sense once the chuckling stopped.

“Fresh fruit and veggies will keep you regular.  You’ll never be dissipated.”

“Be respectful and polite with people you meet.  Most of ‘em are well-indentured.

“Don’t be boastful.  Self-defecation is a good thing.”

“Get some exercise every day.  Don’t let yourself become sedimentary.”

Aunt Helen was used to it, of course, rarely raising an eyebrow.  I suspect she was never sure if he was naturally inclined to err, or slyly having everyone on.  But either way, she wasn’t above giving it right back to him every now and then.

“What’s for dinner?” he asked one night.

“Steak and kiddley pie,” she said, deadpan.

“You mean kidney pie, Helen,” he corrected.

Without so much as a pause, she replied, “I said kiddley, diddle I?”

I miss them both.

About talebender

A retired principal, superintendent, and school district director of education, I am a graduate of York University and the Ryerson School of Journalism. I have published eleven novels and nine anthologies of tales, all of which may be found in both paperback and e-book formats on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.  A free preview of the books, and details regarding purchase, may be found at this safe site--- http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/precept. I live with my wife in Ontario and Florida, where I'm at work on a twelfth novel and a tenth collection of tales.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Diddling

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    Your stories are a great way to remember those who have gone before, with affection and appreciation!

    Like

  2. pales62 says:

    Damn that was a humorous piece! Self dedication, diddling oneself in public – what kind of a youth did you have>

    Like

  3. gepawh says:

    Beautiful! Reading this made me grin fondly. Something in my soul is telling me he was “pudding” you on. It was FUN to read!

    Like

  4. Self-defecation is indeed a good thing!
    What do you think Uncle Fred might do with eggcorns and mondegreens? Eat them with broached eggs and piecemeal bacon?
    Thanks for the smiles.

    Like

Leave a comment