Echo’s End

I hear my own voice, urgent, loud, beseeching.  And I hear its forlorn echo, as if mocking me.

“Help!  Help me!”

…help me!

“I am over here!  I am hurt bad!”

…hurt bad!

“Please!  Help me!  Somebody!  Anybody!”

…anybody!

All around me is the gray fog of late afternoon, lit eerily by faint flashes of light, each followed closely by the rumble of distant artillery.  I am screaming now.

“I am here, over here!  I need help!

…need help!

No one comes.  It is as if I am alone on this monstrous battlefield where, only moments ago, hundreds of men, nay thousands, swarmed toward one another.  Where are they?

“Where are you?  I need help!  I am shot to pieces!”

…to pieces!

“I know someone is out there!  Please!  I need help now!”

…help now!

The dampness seeps into my bones.  I taste the bitter cordite clinging to the fog…smell the swampy decay, the miasma of the battlefield, of the trench…feel the cold, sucking muck that binds me to the ground.  But I cannot feel my legs, nor see them in the gloom.

“For God’s sake!  Somebody help me!  I am dying here!”

…dying here!

Far off, I hear the crisp pop and crackle of musketry, and an insistent bugle horn demanding advance—or maybe retreat.  I no longer care.

“Here!  Here!  I am right here!  Right here!”

…right here!

To my right, or perhaps my left, for I cannot see them, men are groaning, calling out in agony, but I do not reply to their pleas.  My own fear is too great to be concerned with theirs.

“Michigan, 7th Michigan!  I am here, comrades, I am right here!  Do not leave me, comrades!”

…comrades!

The pain grows stronger, my voice weaker, but my voice is all I have left.  I want to go home, but home is so far away from this God-forsaken patch of dirt in Virginia.

“Mama!  Mama!  I am sorely hurt, Mama!  It is bad!”

…is bad!

The echo of my voice is changing now, sounding less like me, sounding more like…like one familiar, yet far removed.

“Come fetch me, Mama!  Come get me, for I fear I am going to die!”

…to die!

“Do not leave me here alone!  I need help, I need succor!

…need succor!

I want to stand up and run, to get away from here.  I want to go home, leave this foul war behind, know peace again.  And most of all right now, I want surcease from the pain tearing remorselessly at my innards. 

My voice has become but a whisper, barely audible through great, gurgling breaths, each threatening to be the last.

“Mama, I am feelin’ real low.  I am all alone here.  I want to come home.”

The distant rifles have fallen silent now.  I hear no bugle horns blowing their quavering calls.  The gathering darkness is lit no more by flashes of far-off cannon.  And I no longer hear my pitiful echo.

Instead, I hear the voice of my dear, departed mother, the last voice I shall ever hear, echoing down the years.

…home, sonny-boy.  You’re home.   

© J. Bradley Burt 2020

About talebender

A retired principal, superintendent, and school district director of education, I am a graduate of York University and the Ryerson School of Journalism. I have published eleven novels and nine anthologies of tales, all of which may be found in both paperback and e-book formats on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.  A free preview of the books, and details regarding purchase, may be found at this safe site--- http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/precept. I live with my wife in Ontario and Florida, where I'm at work on a twelfth novel and a tenth collection of tales.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Echo’s End

  1. Powerful. The echo aptly represents both the despair and journey to the next step.

    Like

    • talebender says:

      …the despair and journey, for sure…..but also the unawareness of death’s nearness, and of its inevitability. Will we all go out surprised?
      Thanks for commenting…..and for hosting our weekly sessions (my only opportunity to be part of this)!

      Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    Reading this evokes a strong emotional reaction…the echoes helps readers realize gradually what is happening and where. Subtle, impressive use of literary techniques. It’s also interesting how sound is felt in the reading—loud at first and then very quiet.

    Like

  3. gepawh says:

    The descriptive way you wrote makes one feel the fear and circumstances. Beautifully done as always and a brilliant use of the prompt echo! As a side note; I once met a man who was a real life gangster! He told me, “ kid, no matter how old a man gets, when he is in pain or approaching death, in that fear, he will always call out for his mother!” Your story exemplifies that.

    Like

  4. talebender says:

    Thank you, your comments are appreciated!
    The ‘previous life’ theme is explored in this post from my blog—-

    What’s Heaven Like?

    Like

  5. I really appreciate how your words, the solder’s words, echo. And the contradictory expressions of pain. In the midst of abject suffering comes the exceptional “surcease from the pain tearing remorselessly at my innards” juxtaposed with the soothing echo of mother’s voice. Very nice restraint on the setting. The “God-forsaken patch of dirt in Virginia” says it all. This all makes me wonder if you sense a previous life.

    Like

  6. talebender says:

    Thank you! Your comment is much appreciated.

    Like

  7. wordsmith50 says:

    Great Writing! Nothing more needs to be said.

    Like

Leave a comment