Pardon Me?

It’s Christmas Eve Day. All I want for Christmas is a pardon. Think about it. All I really did was to try to make people happy and a little bit more prosperous. OK, I did like the limelight. I am known and recognized by nearly everyone in the world. That’s a big deal.

So, I sit here alone. I don’t even bother to put on my suit. OK, tonight is a special night. I will dress up. I promised the missus that I would celebrate Christmas a bit early tonight since I do have some business to attend to later. She hates to wait up for me. I wonder if she’ll like the gift that I got for her when I was passing through Paris a while ago?

She just doesn’t get how much stress I am under these days. I have a ton of legal problems. I haven’t paid any taxes in years but I do have a lot of write offs. Then there are the illegal flights, the nighttime travels, the gifts- with no records and no witnesses. My legal team will certainly be busy.

From the master bedroom suite comes the call- “Come in dear, I’d like to show you something?” The voice sounded unusually cheerful and pleasant. I sprang to my feet, and tightened my belt over my big belly. I know, it’s my fault. I admit it. I am addicted to junk food, snacks and sweets.

At the door, I announced my arrival. “I’m coming in now”. I opened the door slowly. My jaw dropped and I was momentarily speechless.

There before me was my beautiful wife adorned with the finest French lingerie. Since this is a PG rated story, I can not describe the scene in detail. However, I will say that the strip of red velvet surrounded by fluffy white fleece was breathtaking. She even added some ornaments strung with care. I stroked my beard in anticipation. Mrs. Claus stared at me and sang a sultry tune- “Ho, ho, ho- Big Boy. Have a very merry Christmas and a Happy New Year”.

At least she pardoned me.

About leeroc3

I am a psychologist by trade. I enjoy excursions into the mind. I have only written professional reports and research articles in the past. I find the freedom to explore and investigate through writing to be exhilarating. An even greater challenge is to learn to work with technology. I will attempt to please the electronic Gods and enter the world of the future. Many of my writings have already focused on the tensions we face in a changing world. Good luck to us all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pardon Me?

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    Your humor always surprises me! I liked the section on all the legal problems Santa could face in his life outside of Christmas Eve!!

    Like

  2. pales62 says:

    Never knew Mr. Claus was such a horny devil. At first, I thought it was about Trump. My bad. Good tale!

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    Imagine Santa having to explain to all those kiddies he missed getting to why he was tardy! They’d never pardon him!

    Like

  4. Cute. I’d like to see you play up the pardon more. I think Santa could have said something inappropriate/racy/goofy when Mrs. Claus calls him, maybe “Please, not tonight, not another toy …” or “a lump of coal if you’ve got a problem,” or something, and then when he realizes the slip he says, “I beg your pardon,” so that the missus can pardon him.

    Like

  5. wordsmith50 says:

    Funny story! I liked the misdirection. Well done!

    Like

Leave a comment