Sound Not Silent

That sound.  First faint a distant murmur of a hum. Then the crescendo as it comes closer. A taunting echoing cackle of sporadic random cadence at a fortissimo of booming sound.

Your heart beats faster and your steps quicken as you note the gathering one, then three, then six, then more.

As you walk, their eyes follow your every step with one collective slow panned movement. Your breath gasps in silent bundles of air, escaping in momentary release.

Their eyes are locked on your path peering a hole in the back of your head as your pace increases.  Your head rapidly pivots back and forth desperately looking for retreat, shelter or an avenue of reprieve. Yet that sound keeps bounding, grating on your exposed nerves and picking unrelenting even though slightly fading to distance.

Like a programmed ambush, another gathering moves in synchronicity, stopping your forward motion and redirecting your path. That sound again plucks at your brain with increasing intensity leaving you feeling trapped.

Why were they following me? What did they want? Panic took over as I succumbed to fear and darted into the nearest bar in surrender, defeated by their numbers. After one hurried and two relentingly slow imbibements numbing the binding fear , I cautiously ventured out into the streets. I paused and listened carefully.  I heard  only the welcome chaos of street noise. No hum. No cackle.

I cautiously looked back and the forth down the busy street and released a large sigh of heavy air. Thankfully,  they were gone and I could continue on my journey unfettered and unafraid. That is absolutely the last time I watch the Hitchcock movie The Birds. Never more.

About suzanneruddhamilton

I write anything from novels and children's books to plays to relate and retell everyday life experiences in a fun-filled read with heart, hope and humor. A former journalist and real estate marketing expert, I am a transplant from Chicago, now happily living in southwest Florida to keep warm and sunny all year round. You can find me at www.suzanneruddhamilton.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sound Not Silent

  1. Thx. Working on my suspense technique.

    Like

  2. talebender says:

    Reminded me a lot of Poe’s ‘The Raven’, especially with your last line. Great build-up of suspense.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Watched once. That’s all. Really appreciate the classy way he did murder and suspense.

    Like

  4. Teresa Kaye says:

    I read somewhere that the more senses you can bring to play in a description, the better it is and you have done a great job here! I can hear the noises, feel the stress, see the rolling gathering. It’s also amazing to me how powerful Hitchcock’s The Birds images were to a generation of viewers. Also a great job of ending with the Raven’s Never more!! Nice touch!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment