SHE SAID NO!

She said no with a tone of certainty
A tone that moved my feeling from excitement to discomfort
Her eyes endorsed the uneasiness of the moment
With arms crossed and a step backwards
 
She said no again as I move closer to the sideboard
The anvil would not feel the hammer of immoderate assertions
The air was filled with a declination of affinity
Yet my coercive plea laid wasted in an unfinished sentence
 
She said no as my final plea advanced a cause for reconsideration
This time I knew the finality of her response 
There would be no satisfaction at this outset
The moments would have to wait, but wait with one more attempt
 
She said no with slight anger only seen occasionally
As she spoke, I gave up the battle and put down my flag
This six year old boy has capitulated
Mother said no it was raining,
  I could not go to the park
 

About JackoRecords

Published Baby Boomer Songwriter. Heavy lyrics and prose and story telling ala Bob Dylan, Tom Petty and Jimmy Webb.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SHE SAID NO!

  1. talebender says:

    God bless all mothers with six-year-old boys! My own mother had two of them, three years apart.
    Nice story.

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    Yes my mind drove a different path as well at the onset! I will say I love the line “Her eyes endorsed the uneasiness of the moment.” Beautiful prose for sure!

    Like

  3. Teresa Kaye says:

    I love it because you set early expectations for a very different meaning! Well done!!

    Like

  4. JackoRecords says:

    Silly, campy little ditty….

    Like

Leave a comment