I’VE MADE MY CHOICES

I’ve made my choices, by listening to voices
Inside an id that resonates, the constant call to congregate
  beyond somewhere ... of time and place
 
I’ve made my choices, to follow railroad noises
As a beacon call to travel on, the parallel tracks to see what comes
    at the end ... but the trips won’t end
 
I’ve made my choices, beyond all rejoicing
Many routes to far off places, the dark yellow brown skinned faces
  shape my view, my world view
 
I’ve made my choices, to places that exploited
my moral compass then turned a skewed … playing someone else’s tune 
  as the choir sang the harmony ... off key
 
I’ve made my choices, to love once and only
Forget the time of broken glass, reminisce the loving past
  with reverence ... out weighting fitful voices
 
I’ve made my choices, the years are enforcing
Thoughts to rise and circumvent, presenting factums I have met
   as they disrupt ... my pillowed nights
 
I’ve made my choices, don’t remind me what the price is
I remember my mistakes, I see them all on golden plates
  with dreams that echo loud with ache, 
   of what has happened 
   happened yesterday … 
 

About JackoRecords

Published Baby Boomer Songwriter. Heavy lyrics and prose and story telling ala Bob Dylan, Tom Petty and Jimmy Webb.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’VE MADE MY CHOICES

  1. pales62 says:

    Damn, you did it again! Super!

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    Rhythmically powerful words, as always Steve. There are many lines worthy of quoting.

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    A poignant reminiscence. Love the phrase, “…my pillowed nights.”

    Like

Leave a comment