FROM HOTEL TO MOTEL

I hear the scatter of wayward feet …. The anger brought into my den
As they look and see a voice toward me
Wonder why and what has been
Can’t explain the shape I’ve made …. Can’t explain the change
A shape not pleasant to the heart
Metamorphosis so strange
 
“Gregor tell me have you gone …. We planned to be together”
I hear Grete’s voice I answer not
She continues on with blather
I wave as if to catch her eye …. She sees not my complaint
My voice becomes a murmured chirp
Her name a distant faint
 
What has been of what I was … just an oval oily trunk
My head is small compared to all
Am I stoned or am I drunk
I find my mouth to be not where … I use to eat the crumb
Behind me now a backward scowl
Oh what I have now become
 
"Grete I see your affection wain" … a cruel demeanor rises
Something left beyond the theft
Of my change in footstep sizes
You’ve decided to prosecute … the case against my form
Knowing not … what I have lost
Vacuous as a windstorm
 
Mamma Samas don’t be convulsed … with the sight of me that’s altered
I’m still your son … what has become
My soul it did not conquer
You have to deal directly … beyond what a mother feels
Repulsive smell … does not tell
trapped inside this seal
 
Mr Samas, papa dear … I know I’ve changed your programme
Your angry light … now sees your plight
your workplace on the tram
The years you used my labor … comfortable life provided
No longer will I … supply family rye
Now who will do … is undecided
 
Warm smell of colitis … rising up through the air
Cleaning lady’s scent … directs her to a vent
To a package underneath the chair
She picks up the worded box … I begin tumble and slide
She doesn’t see … Inside it is me
I will longer hide
 
The charwoman inspects … as the box is inscribed
She begins to smile … as if beguiled
And reads the letters diatribe
Roaches check in but they don’t check out
Is what is said … I know am dead
“The roach motel” I shout
 

About JackoRecords

Published Baby Boomer Songwriter. Heavy lyrics and prose and story telling ala Bob Dylan, Tom Petty and Jimmy Webb.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FROM HOTEL TO MOTEL

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    I enjoy the mysteries of your work…that you have to keep reading to see what surprise the end will bring.

    Like

  2. talebender says:

    I. too, enjoyed the rhythm of this one…..even read it aloud to myself to hear it fully. The rhythm reminds me of a waterfall, each stanza rushing after the last…..

    Like

  3. gepawh says:

    Very rhythmic as we’ve come to expect. A nice and unique way your take on the prompt!

    Like

  4. I always love the cadence and descriptive introspection of your work. I keep trying to hear the melody…singer’s burden.

    Like

Leave a comment