Zoom around the World in 7 Days

“Where are you going on your vacation, Gayle?” Clark asked.

“We’re going on a 7-day trip around the world,” Gayle answered. “We can’t wait.”

“A 7-day trip around the world? You can’t do that?” Clark laughed.  

“Sure you can. It’s easy with Zoom Virtual Travel,” Gayle said. “We’ve been Zooming around the globe for months now.  Instead of watching TV, we go on a different trip right from our living room.”

“What? You’re pulling my leg,” Clark chuckled. “You’re not going anywhere, are you?”

“Yes, really, we are. Let me show you,” Gayle said, pulling out her cell phone. “Here we are in front of the Eiffel Tower last month. Oh, and here are the kids marching in a New Orleans Parade at Mardi Gras last week. They collected so many beads, I don’t know what we will do with them.”

“I don’t understand, you were here last weekend, I saw you at a soccer game,” Clark insisted.  “How is this possible?”

With Zoom Virtual travel, you can Zoom around the world and get a full immersive experience,”  Gayle explained. “You get virtual reality headsets, so you can go to anywhere in the world you want. You just make your reservation, cue it up, and it’s like you’re really there.  You can do everything that you would if you traveled there, but you don’t have to leave your couch. You can go to museums in Spain, go on the elevator to the top of the Eiffel tower and even visit the Colosseum in Italy and take a guided tour.”

“Oh, I’ve heard of this, they show you movies and it seems like you are really there, but it’s not interactive, you can’t go to restaurants or talk to people. It’s not the same,” Clark said.

“No, really, it is interactive,” Gayle said. “They’ve thought of everything. With the smell-o-vision menu feature, so you can go into a restaurant and it pumps all the smells into your headset, and it tricks your palate into thinking you’re actually tasting it. A few weeks ago, we sat in a pub in Scotland and tasted haggis in Scotland and real Scotch. Nobody liked the haggis, but the scotch was incredible. We bought a few bottles for home.”

“You can taste things?” Clark said. But there are things you can’t do, like shopping. We love to buy souvenirs when we travel as a memory of the trip.”

“Actually you can,” Gayle explained.  “It’s incredible. You can go into a store or marketplace wherever you are and negotiate with vendors and the Zoom package delivery series will send everything right to your home. It’s all included in the zoom travel package. They’ve really covered everything.”

“You can interact with people there,” Clark asked.

“Yes. I had a conversation in Australia last month with a native aborigine in his native aboriginal language through their translator app. It was wonderful, he told me about when he was a young boy and now he actually teaches the old way of the aborigines to all the young children so the culture is not lost,”Gayle told.

“Wow, this is unbelievable,” Clark said. “I need to sign up for this right away. You save so much money and still experience the world.”

Definitely.  Oh I know your kids would love the Niagra Falls trip.  But don’t forget your slickers.  With the virtual experience feature, you will get wet when you go under the maid in the mist and near the falls. And put tarps down to protect the furniture.  Our couch got little wet from the overspray,” Gayle laughed.

“Sorry, I need to go.  I’ll text you the link.  I need to make reservations for the running of the bulls in Spain. We don’t want to get a spot in the back. The bulls really smell and you don’t want to get run over,” Gayle walked toward the door.

“It can do that?” Clark asked.   

“Yes, you don’t get hurt of course, but it really feels like it, Bye.” Gayle said.

Announcer: This has been an advertised-paid infomercial for Zoom Travel Co, Inc.

About suzanneruddhamilton

I write anything from novels and children's books to plays to relate and retell everyday life experiences in a fun-filled read with heart, hope and humor. A former journalist and real estate marketing expert, I am a transplant from Chicago, now happily living in southwest Florida to keep warm and sunny all year round. You can find me at www.suzanneruddhamilton.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Zoom around the World in 7 Days

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    I love it and I like the dialogue…I don’t think you need to change. The overspray from Niagara Falls was my favorite. One of my teachers long ago told me that if you were really good at visualizing, your mind would act on thoughts as though they were real…so I think many possibilities exist here! What a future we have waiting for us!!

    Like

  2. Thx. Wouldn’t it be interesting? I think I am rusty on short stories. It keeps coming out in play form.

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    Love how you told the whole thing through dialogue!
    The idea is fantastic…..but coming soon, I bet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment