Passing the Torch

We all knew it was coming. This great man has stood up bravely in the face of many disasters. Yet we saw the slippage a few years ago when he was somehow 30 miles away from the eye of hurricane Irma. His colleague Mike Bettes, was left to stand at a 45 degree angle into the raging wind as the eye moved over Naples, Florida. Jim also complained about the stinging rain. Really? Hurricane Laura has sealed Jim Cantore’s fate. Here are the reports.

11:01 PM: Jim is reporting to us from Lake Charles. He announces that “the winds are really picking up but you may not notice that since I am on the safe side of a big concrete hotel”. He says the winds are due to pick up soon. I yawn and contemplate turning to the Daily Show. But wait.

11:03 PM: “Good evening folks. I’m Stephanie Abrams reporting to you from Lake Charles. I am standing here on the shore of the lake. We expect a direct hit of the eye wall tonight. I’m holding up my hand wind meter now”. She shouts, “It’s at 58 mph. We will see that climb steadily over the next couple of hours”. Her hair is waving to her right like a wind sock at a little private airport. She promises she will stay to the end.

11:45 PM: “I’m Stephanie Abrams coming to you from the shore of Lake Charles. Conditions have deteriorated within the hour as you can see”. Palm leaves are flying behind her. She is talking loudly and rapidly like you would as you climb into the front seat of a 300 foot drop monster roller coaster. She promises she will stick around and “ride it out”. I’m with you Stephanie!

12:30 PM: Stephanie is a bit difficult to see as the rain is moving horizontally, apparently trying hard to avoid the ground. She is screaming now and all I got was “Stephanie” and some talk about an eye, or tie, or a fly. She holds up her wind gauge as she yells out “105 now”. She is tipped at a 45 degree angle. If the wind suddenly stopped she would be flat on her face. “Stick round. I’ll be back!” Yes, Stephanie. I will be here for you.

12:46 PM: Stephanie has given up even attempting whole sentences now. She just points to her jacket. The camera pans as we read “Stephanie Abrams TWC”. That a girl. Get your name out there. The camera pans down to show her knee deep in water. This brave woman now holds up her wind gauge with both hands trembling. “127” which shatters Jim Cantore’s old record of 110. She promises she’ll stick around as the eye wall hits in about 15 minutes. I can’t wait! Hang in there Stephanie!

1:01 AM: For old times sake, TWC switches over to Jim. He is slumped on the hotel floor huddled in a fetal position as he shouts “You can hear the roar of the wind folks”. It is impressive though I miss Stephanie’s visuals. Unfortunately the effect was lost as a waiter walks in front of Jim and digs out a bucket full of ice in the machine behind Jim. The waiter presses the off button and the roaring disappears. The waiter inquires, “Are you OK? Can I get you a drink?” A tear comes to my eye as I look at the shell of a formerly great weatherman.

1:06 AM: Cut to Stephanie. An empty shot. OMG. She’s blown away! Poor child. We will miss her. But wait. I hear a voice. “I’m up here” she screams out as the camera pans up a palm tree bent 45 degrees by the 150 mph. winds. She has managed to roll her weather channel jacket and she has tied herself to the tree. She skillfully positioned her name on the jacket to be exposed for the camera. Well done. Suddenly the winds stopped as we enter the eye wall. I can breathe now. I have seen enough for now. I must get my beauty sleep. I can rest easily. Stephanie is at the helm.

The next day, besides showing endless loops of Stephanie’s adventure, the desk anchor announced that Jim Cantore will now have the honor of being the night anchor person from 1 AM to 5 AM. Stephanie will be the chief field meteorologist. They cut to her walking briskly through the New Orleans airport. The anchor asks where she might be going in such a rush. “I’ll be taking off for Guam in 20 minutes. There is a 200 mph. typhoon headed there in three days. I want to get there early and be ready”. Stephanie knows she can’t rest on her laurels. What a woman!

The torch has been passed.

About leeroc3

I am a psychologist by trade. I enjoy excursions into the mind. I have only written professional reports and research articles in the past. I find the freedom to explore and investigate through writing to be exhilarating. An even greater challenge is to learn to work with technology. I will attempt to please the electronic Gods and enter the world of the future. Many of my writings have already focused on the tensions we face in a changing world. Good luck to us all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Passing the Torch

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    This was most enjoyable and I’m still laughing. Especially about how Stephanie arranged her jacket in the palm tree so we could read her name. Those optics are so important! Evidently our storms are good for ratings, judging by the degree of coverage. I always love when they do the photos in the wind tunnels to show how windy it might get. We live in crazy times!!!

    Like

  2. talebender says:

    I’d be huddled with Jim, I think! Typhoon Stephanie can handle the storms!

    Like

  3. pales62 says:

    Why do those idiot weather persons stand in the middle of storms? Good chronicalling of their craziness!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment