Clear Plastic Reveals All

I pull slowly on the thin, clear plastic wrap as it yields reluctantly with a scratching, squealing sound of protest as I firmly pull it from it’s protective roll. I lowered the yellow box a bit, closer to the granite counter as I mentally calculate the necessary length. I turned the box deftly in a counterclockwise direction as I make a swift pull against the sharp metal strip at the edge of the box. The frightened plastic screeches and tries to make a quick escape by curling rapidly but I have outwitted it. I lower the fleeing plastic an inch or two quickly onto the counter. Escape is futile. I have won this battle.  I smooth out the few wrinkles as I say quietly to myself, “You are mine”.

Now I lift the pork chop from its package and place it squarely on the plastic wrap. A few quick folds reveal my packaging skills. There is exactly an inch overlap on all sides. I repeat this process again for a second layer which will ensure a perfect seal and protect this little chop from freezer burn. I contemplate adding a scarf or sweater as well but that would be overkill.

I realize that in just a few short days I have examined many of my old habits. A piece of paper towel might have a life beyond a napkin. It can be used to clean the counter. I cut my grill warm up time to 5 minutes instead of 10. I shut off the grill a few minutes before extracting the chicken or beef. I want you to keep this secret. OK? Promise? I also can get away with 20% less toilet paper. Don’t speak this out loud. And don’t tell anybody.

I watch the birds more closely that fly by or that walk by our lanai. I spotted a bald eagle gliding high in the sky the other day when I usually am in a rush to get to a club or activity. I take a little longer to use actual long sentences in my emails to friends and family. I imagine their circumstances in their different location with their different demands and challenges.

I eat a little slower and appreciate what I have before me instead of rushing on to do paperwork or listen to TV. I feel more protective of the planet as I listen to a story on PBR. Seven billion people have pushed their way into the animal world- the wild places we did not enter in years past. Is there a coincidence that most new viruses are crossing over from animals to humans? Can eating bats really be a good idea? I think of the trash in the central pacific ocean and the mountains of trash we produce every day. Are we truly taking care of the planet so it can take care of us?

I wonder if Corona virus is more than a serious temporary inconvenience. Maybe it is a wake-up call.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Clear Plastic Reveals All

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    I’m glad to have your ideas to help me see the bright side of this pandemic! And I have been writing about times like these often result in great discoveries and great writings!! You can lead us!!

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    Ah, to wonder is umm, wonderful. Odd isn’t it? How in death we seek life! In blindness sight! It what wonderer’s always do. I would think a ski hat on the pork chop might be ok!

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    You’ve given us all a recipe for how to adjust our emotional attitude during these stressful times…..really good for me, as my wife and I are on day 2 of a mandatory 14 day isolation period after returning from the US.
    But next fall, I want you to teach me how to use that #&$*@ plastic wrap!

    Like

  4. ruddhamiltonsuzanne says:

    good idea – stop and smell the roses – I can’t right now, I have seasonal allergies. I will need to wait. Great description.

    Like

Leave a comment