A Beautiful Thing

 

It has it all! The design incorporates sleek aerodynamic lines coupled with functional air scoops that feed the ravenous ram-induction power-plant. Fit and finish are flawless down to the micro millimeter. The interior, constructed of soft Corinthian Leather and brushed chrome, radiates luxury but leaves no doubt in the mind of the observer that functionality is valued above all else. A seven-speed, paddle-shift transmission, wide road hugging run-flat tires, and adaptive suspension complete the package.

People are amazed that a parked car can project the illusion of rocketing along at 120 mph. When the beast rests at idle a ground tremor can be felt similar to a train traveling through a subway tunnel. A rumble, not unlike distant rolling thunder, vibrates the air as I casually depress the accelerator unleashing only a limited portion of the 700 horses that live under the hood.

Whether driving to work or navigating a track at maximum speed, this car never disappoints me. Next week I’ll be participating in the Watkins Glen Pro-Am and I know I’ll return home victorious. Nothing can beat us when we meld with each other, man and machine functioning as one.

Once again, the sun breaches the horizon and my alarm rousts me from my slumber. I shave, eat breakfast, say goodbye to my wife and kids and walk to my ride, a 2010 Toyota Prius. No, it’s not the car of my dreams, but it does get me to work and back, picks up the kids when a Daddy Uber is required, and it doesn’t cost a lot for gas or repairs. My wife is talking about trading it for a minivan or SUV. The suggestion does make sense since we will have another family member soon.

Fantasies are a beautiful thing!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Beautiful Thing

  1. gepawh says:

    Humorous and entertaining.

    Like

  2. jmelesky says:

    fun read!

    Like

  3. talebender says:

    Lovely fantasy! My first car was a used Chevy Corvair, and I used to pretend it was a Beemer! But I never won at Watkins Glen!
    Nice job.

    Like

Leave a comment