BERNIE

 
Mamma, Bernie don’t want to play
Said he won’t give his hard earn money away
Mamma, didn’t realize
The four of us would be surprised
When Bernie, took that ride
 
I remember what was told
By the white old man in his robe
“I’ll tie you up and raped your soul
  without pity”
And then a jury of my peers
Had option for the next twenty years
But I showed elegiac tears
Than freedom
They found no guilt in what I steal
The verdict was that social ills
Has caused this life of crime to fill
My pockets
 
So the cops had fingers tied
Legal mandate on my side
Streets and subways people hide
In shadows
I take a ride down the street
People bow and kiss my feet
Retribution in defeat
Total homage
 
But then they flipped the subway token
We cried heads but tails were spoken
Laying there four bodies broken
Bernard Goetz had his day 
 
Mamma, Bernie don’t want to play
Said he won’t give his hard earn money away
Mamma, it seems so strange
Thought I had it all arranged
Till Bernie, took that ride

About JackoRecords

Published Baby Boomer Songwriter. Heavy lyrics and prose and story telling ala Bob Dylan, Tom Petty and Jimmy Webb.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BERNIE

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    I like the first person narrative in the form of poetry…it’s a great way to tell a story with a moral.

    Like

  2. talebender says:

    Like George, I was puzzled at the time by the conflicting views of the general public. What was vigilantism, and what was stand your ground?
    Your piece presented the episode from a viewpoint I hadn’t considered.
    Nicely done!

    Like

  3. gepawh says:

    As one who lived through that time (in the area), I marvel how he was both a villain and hero at the same time. That sentiment ran across the racial lines as well!

    Like

Leave a comment