A Christmas Carol – The Aftermath

“Take your hands off me! Where are you taking me? Don’t you understand, I’m the victim here?” bellowed Ebenezer Scrooge at the bobbies as they dragged him to the Paddy Wagon.

“It’s that Bob Cratchit who set this whole thing up—him and that son of his, Tim. They’re the real criminals, conning me out of all my money. Why won’t you stop for one minute and hear me out?”

Bob Cratchit and Tim watched the scene with Scrooge and the police play out in the street in front of his newly acquired money lending establishment. Bob turned to the detective working the case, “It’s a real shame about the old man. I’ve worked for him most of my adult life and tried to tell him he was losing his grip on reality. I even invited him to our house for Christmas dinner just to ease the pressure he was under for a while.”

Constable Holmes looked over his notes and said, “According to your statement, you told the responding officers that Mr. Scrooge claimed to see ghosts. He also thought your son Tim was crippled and walked with the aid of crutches. Is that correct sir?”

“Yes, constable, that’s correct. After rambling on about ghosts I felt he might become a danger to himself and my family, so that’s when I called the police. Once Ebenezer realized his money was lost due to some bad investments, his mind couldn’t take the strain.

“Where will you take Uncle Ebenezer?” asked Tim.

“To Bedlam Asylum for the Insane, where they will look after him until he’s well.” Replied Constable Holmes.

“Well it’s good to know he’ll be well cared for. Merry Christmas to you and your men, have a good night.” Tim told the police as they left with Scrooge.

From out of the shadows Fred, Ebenezer’s actual nephew, stepped forward to join Bob and Tim. “I’m amazed at how easy that was. You really are a wiz at cooking the books Bob, and Tim is a natural born actor.”

“Well your ghost portrayals are worthy of an award. You almost had me believing they were real.” said Tim.

What are you going to do with your share of the proceeds?” inquired Fred.

“Well, I already have a buyer for our house. Once everything is finalized, we’re going to move somewhere warm. I’ve had it with London weather. Merry Christmas, Fred. Enjoy your new found wealth. I know we will, and the dickens with Ebenezer Scrooge!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Christmas Carol – The Aftermath

  1. Very creative. I wouldn’t have thought of re-writing that story.

    Like

  2. Janet DeLeo says:

    I really liked the twist. Surprised the dickens out of me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa Kaye says:

    Interesting twist on a Christmas favorite–and it could easily be true!! I liked the references to Holmes and Bedlam and how you used ‘dickens’ in the last line (and the frustration with London weather)! Maybe you could do a sequel to this…when Ebenezer gets out!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jrowe2328 says:

    What a revoltin’ development this is! Poor old Ebenezer doesn’t get to reform!

    Like

  5. gepawh says:

    Hah! Just when you think you knew the story, along comes a beautiful twist. Very Clever adaptation!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. talebender says:

    Well done…..you actually made me feel sorry for Scrooge! Not even Dickens could do that. I especially liked that you told the entire story through dialogue.

    Like

Leave a comment