Christmas Eve in Pelican Preserve

Christmas Eve in PP and the night is so still!

The sky’s stars at full bright, in the air just a chill!

The children, now grown, are back North in the snow,

But none with the old ones, it’s Florida, you know!

We sit, drink in hand, in short pants and short sleeves,

With a grin on our faces, BUT no snow on our eaves!

With just Joy in our hearts, we await Santa Claus,

No angst over presents, no things give us pause!

At this phase in our lives, it’s abundantly clear,

The BEST Christmas present is just to be here!

About jrowe2328

the more I read of history and religion, the less sure I am that I have ever correctly understood what I learned as a child.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Eve in Pelican Preserve

  1. Well said. I like the humor you inject into your poetry.

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    Poetic happiness!

    Like

  3. pales62 says:

    I’m with you! Nicely done! Well crafted!

    Like

  4. talebender says:

    You captured our sentiments exactly!

    Like

  5. leeroc2 says:

    Love it. I’m sitting in tiny seats awaiting my flight north. I hope we don’t get stranded for 3 days in Atlanta. It has happened. Have a toast to us weary travellers at the pool.

    Like

  6. wordsmith50 says:

    Well put!

    Like

Leave a comment