What Happened?

Dear Christian…

I hate it here.  It smells.   I have been forgotten.  What happened to my life?

I mostly used to hang out with close friends and pretty often, I went places.
I saw big buildings and listened to music. Sometimes, I even danced. That was fun. I loved to go out. Every day was a new adventure. Now, I am stuck here with these…well…let’s say, less thans.  I have really hit rock bottom.

To be honest, I really don’t know what happened.  I was the life of the party.  I am cute. After all, I am super shiny and I have a red sole.  Well, some of the red is faded now. Guess that happens to everyone.  But why did it have to happen to me?  What did I do wrong?  Oh sure, my bottom is a little worn down and my sole is a little weary.

Yes, to be frank…I really don’t want to say it out loud… but my color is a little faded too. It’s true, I am not as shiny as I was when I was young, but I still have some sparkle left.  I am useful to someone.

Now all I do is sit around.  Sometimes kids show up and I get some entertainment.  But then I wish they’d leave.  They always have something sticky on them and I don’t want them to get it on me.

I see people staring at me all the time.  I don’t really like the look of most of them.  I want to get out…but I am not that desperate.  Where do they find these people?

Why did she leave me behind? Did I offend her? Maybe….do I smell?  I thought we had a good thing going.  I did my part.  I was always raring to go and really….I made her look good.  Kind of selfless of me…come to think of it.  Well…I did like to show off too.

I am making the best of it, but I would like to get out again.  I need to feel like I have a purpose.  If you know of anyone who is looking for a slightly used, but still valuable…well you get it.  You know me.

Here comes someone…have to go now.

I’m back and I have Great News.  Someone came for me yesterday. They took me to this place and I never felt better.  I feel like new! I am shiny again!  They propped up my bottom and gave me a new sole.

And she takes me out everywhere. We are like peas in the pod. Who knew life could be this good again.  I will check in with you later…we are going dancing.  I can’t wait.

All my love, Mary Jane

Author’s note:  Shoes with red soles are sold by Christian Louboutin.  The “Mary Jane” is one of their most popular and timeless shoes.

About suzanneruddhamilton

I write anything from novels and children's books to plays to relate and retell everyday life experiences in a fun-filled read with heart, hope and humor. A former journalist and real estate marketing expert, I am a transplant from Chicago, now happily living in southwest Florida to keep warm and sunny all year round. You can find me at www.suzanneruddhamilton.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What Happened?

  1. pales62 says:

    Soul, sole? Either way, excellent!

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    I like stories that keep you guessing until the end! And it’s fun to think about what inanimate objects might think about our world. Your writing made me want to be nicer to my shoes!

    Like

  3. hamiltonsuzanne says:

    You inspired me. Since reading your book, I’ve wanted to do a short story from the ant’s point of view, so to speak. You did several and I thought they were so clever.
    I’m glad I got the opportunity to try it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I pictured red soled sneakers until you said Mary Janes, which was a style of children’s shoes waaaaay back when I was a kid. You’re very creative and I enjoy your stories!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hamiltonsuzanne says:

    You don’t miss a trick. I originally had it as soul but I changed it to sole as someone reading this without knowing the prompt may not understand the duality of The Shoe versus a person. I’m not sure which is best?

    Like

  6. gepawh says:

    I was thinking dress all the way! Having not seen the written, your use of the word sole to me was soul: ie; new life (zipper). Nicely worded.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment