Darkness Brings Light

My eyes opened to a familiar musical sound and complete darkness. Why do I insist on total darkness, with no night lights! Why don’t I put my phone in the same place every night? “Ow! dammit, Shit!” I shouted as my leg bone hit the bed’s metal sideboard, as I grasped the ringing phone! Looking at my alarm clock, I exclaimed to myself: “It’s three o’clock in the morning. Are they crazy? Who is this?” I picked up the phone and said: “Who the hell is this?” “This Officer Barry of the Silver Spring Police station”, the voice said, calmly, before asking: “Are you Robert Redstone?” I verified my name, address, and ownership of a light blue Mercedes.

Officer Ronald Barry responded: “I am sorry to ask you at this hour, but your car has been involved in a serious accident.” “Who was driving”, I asked, suddenly wondering who, in my family, could be hurt. Officer Barry assured me that my family was not involved and informed me that the driver is known and is seriously injured. He added: “His name is Tom Murray. He wants to talk to the car owner and we would like to monitor the discussion. Afterwards, you have to come to the Silver Spring precinct on Georgia Avenue to verify the ownership of the vehicle.”

I slipped into my jeans and took my wife’s car. I left her a note not to worry and told her where I was going. In twenty minutes, I arrived at Holy Cross hospital and was brought to Officer Barry. We went immediately to see the injured driver. The Accident Ward was a series of cramped rooms. We entered room 321 and Officer Barry took a seat, midway into the room. I walked over to Tom Murray. He was a mess, covered with bandages, with only his eyes visible to me. I turned and asked Officer Barry if I could talk to the injured fellow.

Barry gave me his OK, with a bored-looking wave. “Tom Murray”, he whispered to me, then and added: “Time was short because of my injuries and advanced lung cancer.” He begged me to listen closely to his story. “First”, he said, “Let me explain that I am not, normally, a car thief. I live alone in an upscale home in Potomac, Maryland. My car ran out of gas and I started to walk to the bank, but my breathing became too strained. I saw your car in your driveway, and managed to start the engine.  He added: “It was so dark and I was so panicked that I lost my bearings and road for hours. I lost control of the car and it crashed. I am so sorry!”

Mr. Murray went on to explain that he was a wealthy man, who was planning his last will and testament.  He said: “I wanted to ensure that this, as my last bank deposit, would provide lasting funds to the Project Love- Home for Children. Since the bank is closed and I cannot fill out the forms because of my injuries. Only you can help me get the money to the right place by tomorrow. Without a fast infusion of money, the Home will close!” When Officer Barry was talking to the nurse, Mr. Murray slipped to me the code name and bank account numbers for me to access the funds.

I left the hospital, and went with Officer Barry to claim the crushed car and fill out necessary forms. Visiting the Home for Children and confirming Mr. Murray’s history of contributions to this charity, were my next priority. Everything checked out and I transferred the 42 million dollars, given in Mr. Murray’s name. I was so impressed by the quality if the work at this institution that I continue to add my own annual contributions, and help the Home raise more funds. A day that began with a dark 3:00 am, frightening telephone call, eventually brought peace to a dying man and the sunlight of goodness with the continued giving of funds to help children in need by both Mr. Murray and many others.

©Norman F. Estrin, Ph.D., Darkness Brings Light, March 4, 2019

 

About normestrin

I enjoy creating sculptures, drawings, paintings, poetry, prose, and new ideas. I also enjoy playing tennis, ping pong, and using my sense of humor. My career was in the trade association field, creating new programs, books, and conferences to meet the needs of certain industries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Darkness Brings Light

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    I like that what you led us to expect in the first paragraph was completely wrong–the end of the story was quite unexpected and had a very positive outcome–as you indicated with the title!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh, some good DOES come from a phone ringing a 3 a.m. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pales62 says:

    Wow, charity reigns in your heart!
    Nicely done…

    Like

Leave a comment