A Crack Was Heard

It’s a warm sunny day so all the kids hitch hiked down to the sandy beach on the shore of Lake Superior.  I decided to swim across the Portage Canal between the two light houses at the entrance.  The quarter mile distance was near my limit and after a rest on the far side, I had to swim back.  It was a long walk on the rocky breakwater. As my feet were getting sore, I decided to dive in and float back to the beach. With no regard to the depth of the water my head hit the bottom.  Crack.

About calumetkid

Born in 1943, Calumet, Michigan. Love baseball, trains, chess, Lake Superior, the Law. State Trooper, Lawyer, Retired.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Crack Was Heard

  1. Nice, tight little story. (Sorry about your head.)

    Like

  2. pales62 says:

    May I take this occasion to also express my concern over your “crack”! Nicely done…

    Like

  3. gepawh says:

    Good job on 100 words or so. If your head is anything like mine—my condolences to the rock!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. normestrin says:

    That was scary! Here are your free words for a happy ending: “Then I became a writer!” I don’t want to hear other “Cracks” from you.:)

    Like

Leave a comment