A LA RESERCHE DU TEMPS PERDU

 

 

A LA RESERCHE DU TEMPS PERDU

 

It never left my possession, carried in a secure slot in my wallet, since my best buddy, Ray Donnelly, gave it to me before he died of shrapnel wounds in a field hospital in Vietnam, fifty years ago!

Ray saved my life, sacrificing his own during the battle of Khe Sanh. The V.C. stormed our base. Ray and I were hunkered down in a fox hole, when a grenade fell into our position. He quickly covered my body with his own as the grenade exploded.

Ray’s damaged dog tag was so valuable to me – more than any other object in my life. Its loss was incalculable.

I searched everywhere and everything to no avail. The loss was devastating, eating away at me and covering my every day existence in a black shroud.

Weeks later, I received a letter from a man named Binh (“peaceful”) Donnelly, claiming to be Ray’s son. I was as close to Ray as anyone. I knew he never married and he never mentioned a son.

I immediately contacted the man who sent the letter. We arranged to meet.

 

It turns out that Ray had a torrid affair with a local Vietnamese woman, Ngoc (”precious gem”). The man who wrote to me was indeed Binh Donnelly, the result of that affair.

We met many times after that. I regaled him with stories of his dad. He related all the details of his life as a “mixed-breed” child, growing up in post-war Vietnam. He and his mother were able to get to the U.S. where he grew up and became a successful physician.

After several meetings, he presented me with the only memory he had of his deceased dad, his dog tag!

 

 

 

 

 

It wasn’t the lost tag, but I valued it almost as much. At least, it would fill the void I felt in my life.

We still correspond often and meet a lot. Binh’s mother died before he graduated from medical school, knowing that she had saved him from the prejudice against mixed- breed children and proud of all that he had accomplished.

Binh is now a successful heart surgeon and I love him as if he was my own son. I see Ray in him every time we meet.

The dog tag will be willed to him upon my death. I will not lose it before that!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A LA RESERCHE DU TEMPS PERDU

  1. You captured the emotions in such a way that I was convinced of the story’s truth. Well done.

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    Great story! I think it could be a movie–am guessing there are several real life versions very similar to this that should also be told. Thanks for reminding us about the sacrifices soldiers made in that war.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gepawh says:

    A very realistic and haunting story, in all it’s ways. Written with perfect emotions, that stretch from the beginning throughout and even into the future. (willed dog tag)

    Like

  4. wordsmith50 says:

    Well written and certainly a moving story. Nicely done!

    Like

Leave a comment