Cryptogram

I started my day as usual: wake up at 6:30, dress in running gear, leave the house by 6:50, try to run a 2 mile course through the park in under 15 minutes. All was going according to plan until, half way through my run I could hear a scraping sound when I put my right foot down. “So this is how my day is going to go!” I said to no one in particular, and sat on a nearby bench to examine my shoe. Stuck to the sole was an intricately folded piece of paper held together along the outside edge with some type of glue.

Ordinarily I would have tossed it in the nearby trash bin, but the way it was so carefully folded and sealed peaked my curiosity. I carefully peeled the edge free from the glue and unfolded a small page of text.

By opening this letter you have embarked on a journey that could potentially change your life. Just solve the cryptogram below and your future is financially secure.

I want to win it all!

There is one stipulation.  Half of what you win must be given to one or more charities of your choice. Act before the end of today or your opportunity will be lost.

I put the paper in my pocket and finished my run. Upon arriving home, I continued through my normal routine, rereading the note in between sips of my protein shake. I like puzzles, and this could be a real challenge. Time was running short, so the note went into my coat pocket and stayed there until lunch time.

After reading the note for the third time, I took out a blank sheet of paper and started writing down letter combinations that would reveal a phrase, password, anything that would give me a clue. My co-workers began returning from lunch and the main topic of conversation was the $400 million mega ball lottery drawing tonight. Lottery numbers, that’s the key I’ve been looking for!

Combine the letters in the words to acquire their numeric value and play those numbers: I = 9 (ninth letter in the alphabet); want = 58; to = 35; win = 46; it = 29; and all = 25. This is just too strange for me to think it wouldn’t work. It seemed like an eternity before quitting time, but when it finally arrived I was out the door and headed for the closest convenience store to buy my lottery ticket. I only bought one because I was either right about the whole code or I wasn’t, no hedging my bet. With the ticket safely tucked away in my pants pocket, I went home to await the results.

The evening dragged on interminably. Finally, the time of reckoning had arrived. The machine was turned on, the balls danced in the air, and one by one rolled down the chute.  58, 46, 35, 29, 9, and the mega-ball 25. Joy, bewilderment, terror, pick an emotion and I experienced it. After a very restless night, I contacted my lawyer and financial adviser, then the lottery commission and claimed my prize. It took about a week, but I was the country’s newest multimillionaire with a bank account that read $284 million. A deal is a deal, so I wrote a check for $142 million to the Make A Wish Foundation fulfilling my part of the bargain.

Later that same year I was aboard a private jet heading to Monte Carlo. Next to my drink sat a folded and glued sheet of paper. Nervously I unsealed it and read the message.

I’m pleased you were able to decipher the code and claim your prize. Even more importantly, you are a man of integrity and donated as instructed. Life would have been very different had you not followed the directions. Sometime in the future you will receive instructions on how to pay it all forward. Until then, enjoy your life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cryptogram

  1. Well done! I like that you ended it with the hero not knowing where the papers came from, but knowing that they were intended for him. The implied threat that things would have gone very differently if he hadn’t shared his windfall made the story even more solid. Spooky stuff.

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    I can’t remember too many ‘winning’ stories where the winner gives all that money to a charity–Bravo!! Now I know why fortune cookies include those numbers!

    Like

  3. jrowe2328 says:

    Love it! Truly a mix of Rod Serling and The Millionaire! Very well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gepawh says:

    Your intriguing story illustrates the age old biblical axiom: “there are more things in heaven and earth than man can comprehend.

    Like

Leave a comment