Sam the Grocer

My name is Sam.

And I scam.

Call the ladies, “Madame”.

Then sell her “ham.”

(which is really spam).

I don’t really give a d____.

 

It’s all for a buck.

Of course, she’s a sitting duck.

Too bad she’s struck

By a scheme gone amuck.

 

It’s all in the ad

Where she’d been had.

I don’t care if she’s sad.

I’m glad.

 

She fell for the ham a in a can.

Rushing home to put it in a frying pan.

 

What a dope!

Next week I’ll try soap!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sam the Grocer

  1. cocowriter says:

    Ok, here’s the scoop on Spam in Hawaii. According to Google, Hawaii consumes more Spam than any state in our union (6 million cans a year). It all began in WWII, GI’s were served the salty lunchmeat because it didn’t require refrigeration and had a long self life.

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    We needed some poetry and humor this week! My husband loves that fried spam and eats it with a flourish–I don’t even want to be around when that happens. Am wondering what the history of it and why it’s so popular in Hawaii??

    Like

  3. cocowriter says:

    Sam lives in Hawaii. He’s got the whole darn state eating that stuff. You must have visited Hawaii lately.

    Like

  4. calumetkid says:

    You can’t scam me with spam because I like it. Even fried. I’ve tried. I haven’t died. Give me Sam’s address.

    Like

  5. lynteach8 says:

    Funny and clever. Fun to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment