DOORWAY TO PARADISE

 

 

 

DOORWAY TO PARADISE

(With thanks to George Gershwin, Jerome Kern, Irving Berlin and John Denver)

 

I’ll take my doorway to paradise with a new key every day. I’m gonna get there at any price. Stand aside! I’m on my way!

Don’t get the blues. It’s so fair. Shoes! Gonna carry me there!

Since moving to the bubble, called Pelican Preserve, going out my back door (more correctly, the screen door to the lanai), I get a feeling of joy just being here. The sun is shining. The water is glistening. Birds fly by. Fish jump out of the water.

Fish gotta swim. Birds gotta fly. Gonna love this place ‘til I die. Can’t help lovin’ this place of mine. It’s lazy. It’s slow. Maybe I’m crazy. Maybe I know – can’t help lovin’ this place of mine.

You see, sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy. Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry. Sunshine on the water looks so lovely. Sunshine almost always makes me high!

Got no mansion. Got no yacht. Still I’m happy with what I got. I got the sun in the morning and the moon at night. Sunshine outside my door gives me a lovely day. Moonlight gives me the Milky Way

Can anyone beat that?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DOORWAY TO PARADISE

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    Loved all the musical references and you included my favorite composers. Am thinking maybe you left out Shangri-La??

    Like

  2. cocowriter says:

    I think you’re headed for the Pelican Preserve Talent Show! Bravo!

    Like

  3. jrowe2328 says:

    Fabulous! AND well written. Geez, who knew?

    Like

  4. gepawh says:

    As always, an entertaining read! While you give thanks to: Gershwin, Kern, Berlin and Denver, I must apologize, having sung this piece! I am certain it hurt their ears.

    Like

Leave a comment