THE LIGHT AT THE TOP OF THE STAIRS

 

 

THE LIGHT AT THE TOP OF THE STAIRS

 

Teresa, Lynn and Judy pulled into Judy’s driveway late on a Thursday night. Teresa notices a light coming from a window on the second floor.

 

Teresa: “Did you leave the light on?”

Judy: “No”.

Lynn: “What could it be?”

Judy: “I’m sure it’s nothing. Let’s go in and check it out.”

 

The three enter the house, still hearing the noise.

 

Lynn: “What is that?”

Teresa: “I hear it too.”

Judy: “Come on. What’s the matter with you two? I’m sure there’s an easy explanation.”

 

But then footsteps! There was someone in the house!

 

Judy: “Must be my husband.”

Teresa: “You’re not married!”

Lynn: “How long have you been divorced?”

Judy: “Never mind! Let’s check it out.

Teresa & Lynn: “Good idea. You check it out. We’ll wait down here.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

After a prolonged discussion, all three furtively ascend the staircase on their tip-toes, not wanting to make a sound.

 

Judy: “Careful. That third step squeaks.”

Teresa: “When was the last time you cleaned these rugs?”

Judy: “I think it was before the divorce.”

Lynn: “How long ago was it?”

Judy: I don’t rightly remember – maybe 20, 25 years ago.”

 

They continued up the long staircase. They spotted a light under one of the doors. The noise was coming from a room down at the end of the hall.

 

Judy: “I haven’t gone in that room, since the divorce.”
Lynn: “OK, I’ll go in first.”

Teresa: “Good, I’ll go in third.”

 

Lynn proceeds to open the door – very, very slowly. Standing before them was a rather obese man, dressed in a red suit, with a white beard and an odd twinkle in his eyes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Teresa: “Hey, you look like Santa Claus!”

Lynn: ‘Where’s your sled and reindeer?’

Judy: “What’s in that bag?”

Bearded guy: Ho, ho, ho – you’ll know when you check the house for lost inventory!

 

With that, he pushed past the three women, making a hasty retreat down the stairs.

 

Judy: “Damn!”

Lynn: “don’t worry. It’s only possessions. They can be replaced.

Teresa: “I don’t get it. It’s March and you don’t even have a fireplace.”

Judy: “Then, how do you explain this half-eaten plate of sugar cookies?”

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to THE LIGHT AT THE TOP OF THE STAIRS

  1. lynteach8 says:

    Today, I needed to laugh and I sure did with your clever story.

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    I am so glad to be a part of one of your stories! I’m going to frame this one! I loved the part about not doing the cleaning for about 20-25 years!

    Like

  3. normestrin says:

    These women are the three wise ones! And you, Stephen, are a wise guy! I still liked it!

    Like

  4. I’d be with Teresa – going in third. We’d probably have come to an agreement to all go in together, thereby jamming in the doorway. 😀

    Like

  5. jrowe2328 says:

    And! Just how old were those cookies? That is probably actionable by Morgan and Morgan!

    Like

  6. jrowe2328 says:

    That is really funny! You are warped! Poor Santa Claus having to deal with Lynn, Teresa and Judy!

    Like

  7. gepawh says:

    I laughed as I read this. The dialogue was funny and the narration humorous. I can almost see Lynn volunteering, and know I am with Teresa, going in third!

    Like

Leave a comment