I-75 conclusion

As the rain continued and the coffee cooled, approaching a semi truck from behind with its blinding spray made the moment intensify to forget the dread at arrival. Rain, fatigue, trucks, the hated trio of travelers.

Dad, the only vestige of coherence, just died. Mom, bedridden, drugged into incoherence, nerdo brother Chuckie scheming to steal from the estate, and eternal “little princes” Maddie wining and whining about everything awaits my arrival.

A feeling of Why me fatalism surges through my very soul. I simply can’t go through with this. The fires of Hell can’t be worse than this cauldron of family phlegm simmering to destroy us all.

“What” ? Who? Oh good morning I made you your favorite breakfast. Then I thought we might take a little ride in the rain? Did you sleep well dear?

About calumetkid

Born in 1943, Calumet, Michigan. Love baseball, trains, chess, Lake Superior, the Law. State Trooper, Lawyer, Retired.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I-75 conclusion

  1. pales62 says:

    Dream? Nightmare? I chose nightmare. My kind of ending!

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    I like that you turned it into a dream, or is that nightmare! Very good.

    Like

  3. lynteach8 says:

    and I love “wining and whining.” Your description of driving captures my fears.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teresa Kaye says:

    Your words are great…especially–“this cauldron of family phlegm”!!!

    Like

Leave a comment