“OH, HOW I HATE TO GET UP IN THE MORNING”

 

 

“OH, HOW I HATE TO GET UP IN THE MORNING”

 

This song, written by Irving Berlin, about soldiers and revelry, is the perfect description my morning life for as long as my memory allows.

 

As an infant, I’ve been told, reviving me from sleep was not only an exercise in futility, but a serious threat to whomever did the arousing attempt. No one messes with a sound sleeper!

 

Then, the unthinkable happened – I had to attend school! First of all, I had no desire to do so and even less of a desire to be awakened for it.

 

This wakeup-for-school-thing lasted until I finished my educational career many, many years later. Why could not one absorb more, if taught later in the day? Is it not true that we learn much more efficiently with a good night’s sleep? So, why did I have to get up so darn early?

 

Unfortunately, it got worse when I entered the Air Force, where they take a very dim view of reporting late for duty, always babbling some drivel about disciplinary proceedings or something called a court martial. Ridiculous!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I figured the return to civilian life would allow me long, glorious sleep, but I had to disturb this precious sleep by earning a living. Oh, the horror! There really is not any good time to go to work or to go to work at all.

 

Finally, at long last, I retired, allowing me to do anything I pleased, when I pleased. Wrong! “Let’s play tennis at seven before it gets too hot”. “Get an early tee-time before it gets too crowded”. “We’ll meet early to avoid the traffic”.

 

The old garbage of “I am a morning person” and “The early bird gets the worm are simply balderdash! Let me sleep!

 

To complete Berlin’s song: “…. Oh, how I’d love to spend the rest of my life in bed”.

 

Post script: A confession: I rose early enough to awaken my daughter and son for school by raising the blinds, pulling down their blankets or violently pulling the pillows from under their heads. Sweet revenge!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “OH, HOW I HATE TO GET UP IN THE MORNING”

  1. Teresa Kaye says:

    I loved your review of life development related to mornings and I especially liked the reference to Irving Berlin–one of my favorites!!

    Like

  2. lynteach8 says:

    In reference to a later time for school to start, there is evidence that high school students do indeed perform better with a later start. There you go; you were right all along. I know some people have joined the Positively Project, but I just need to read your humorous pieces to feel less anxious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • pales62 says:

      Had no idea about the H.S. study.

      I ‘ll be glad to write other humorous pieces to keep your anxiousness at bay!

      What is the “Positivity Project”? I”m ready for more positivity in light of the overwhelming amount of negativity in this country. >

      Liked by 1 person

  3. gepawh says:

    I always duck but look up when people wish “birds” of paradise or hell to fly overhead! (My advice to Judy.) As for your piece, typical Steve, humorous and poignant and excellent combination!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can always count on your posts to be amusing and to the point. Another good piece. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment