The Promises of May Not Kept

“April showers bring May flowers”,
So the saying goes.

Humpf!!  April has lost its ability to count.
Showers, blustery winds, damp, chilly air
All in the month of May in PA.
Layers required to keep the body warm.

The rain and uncomfortable temperatures
Forced me to await planting annuals.
Today I got herbs and vegetables
Set in my Earthbox out on the deck.

Tomorrow, weather permitting,
Vinca will be set into the bed out front.
Each sunless day I wonder what
The weather is like at Pelican.

I hated to leave there in mid-May
But family duty made it necessary.
Right now, heat, sun, humidity
Sound like winners to me.

When will the sunshine and warmth
Decide to flood my landscape?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Promises of May Not Kept

  1. cocowriter says:

    This week we have the much needed rain in the forecast. No sunshine. I am sorry that you didn’t have the May that I wrote about. Bummer!

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    You captured the way my bones felt right as we left similiar climate for Pelican! I felt empathy for your plight, and your sentiment made me shiver, a wee bit!

    Like

Leave a comment