The Last Class

Retired Rabbi Reuben Levine showed up at Torah Class by complete surprise. I rushed up to him and his family, expressing delight that he was finally back in class. His son tried to stop me with panicked gestures. As our eyes met, with a somber expression, he whispered words to me that chilled me to the core. My mind screamed, in defiance, that no way were his words true! All the air seemed sucked out of me. Rabbi Reuben Levine’s cancer had spread and he was dying. Reuben had little time left. He was here to say goodbye!

I showed them to his customary seat, next to me. With the help of his son, and his wife, he made himself comfortable, while the class stared, in silence. He opened his Torah and I helped him find the current page that would be studied today. He smiled, weakly to me, in thanks.

Reuben did not look at all well. His tan skin was looser than usual. I missed his smile and the want of wicked jokes whispered to me in class. He seemed to struggle to follow the discussion, with the current Rabbi and about 40 attendees. He tried to articulate a question. The Rabbi listened, patiently, repeated the question, and gave him his answer.

Shortly, thereafter, the class ended. A few people had given him sympathetic smiles, wished him well, and walked towards the exit. The rest left, as if they never knew him. His brilliant comments in class, his warmth, as a human being, and his compassion for all in need, all seemed forgotten.

As I turned away from him, I, too, walked several steps toward the door, before turning around. I paused to see him one last time and, without any reflection, rushed back to him, hugging and kissing him. He smiled, with tears in his eyes and waved goodbye. He and I both knew that this was the consummation of our years of friendship on this Earth.

© Norman F. Estrin, March 10, 2017, The Last Class

About normestrin

I enjoy creating sculptures, drawings, paintings, poetry, prose, and new ideas. I also enjoy playing tennis, ping pong, and using my sense of humor. My career was in the trade association field, creating new programs, books, and conferences to meet the needs of certain industries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Last Class

  1. calumetkid says:

    Norm, Your gesture toward Rabbi Levine occurred out of love for him and his life of teaching. I am sure that your expression carried him along his way home. Thank you for this story.

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    This was a great description of a teacher. There is an old saying that when someone dies, we lose a library and I think your story illustrates that saying! I’m fearful that we are losing too many libraries without telling their stories…

    Like

  3. cocowriter says:

    Norm, this reminded me of the book Tuesdays with Morrie. Years ago at the Maui Writer’s Conference I had the pleasure of meeting Mitch Albom and his wife in person. Morrie Schwartz was his sociology professor. He said the name Morrie in Hebrew meant “teacher”. I was a teacher at the time and that stuck with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gepawh says:

    Oh my dear friend Norman, in that singular moment, you validated (external) his value as a Rabbi and as a man, no greater honor could you have extolled.

    Liked by 1 person

    • normestrin says:

      George, my dear friend, your comment made me shed the tear that I could not remember whether I shed at the time. Both you and Joe have helped bring me peace.

      Like

  5. normestrin says:

    Thanks, Joe, that is a fine way to remember him. I appreciate your thoughts.

    Like

  6. jrowe2328 says:

    Norm, think of the energy that Rabbi Levine possessed, once more a part of the universe!

    Like

Leave a comment