One on One

I have been trained for four months.  I’m a new Trooper assigned to a Post 592 miles from home.  I go to work with a senior officer who will observe, listen, and encourage my every thought, word, and deed.  Three months go by and the Post Commander calls me into his office.  “Shut the door”, he says.  “Sit down Trooper”, is the next thing I hear.

“You’ve been here three months and all the senior officers tell me you can certainly go to work on your own.  Do you think you can?”  A definite yes comes out of my mouth.

The next day I’m assigned to begin my shift at 8:00 AM.  No other name is on the schedule next to mine.  So, I load the car with the shotgun, the camera, and the necessary ticket book.  I head out to the patrol car, all washed and clean.  My uniform is immaculate.  Shoes sparkle in the morning glow of the sun.  I am about to make a first impression.  On somebody.  Somewhere. All alone.  One on one with a local citizen?  A denizen?  A wanted felon?  We shall soon see.

I like to chase down speeders.  It is exhilarating.  Life’s blood flows with excitement throughout as the car is stopped waiting my arrival at the driver’s window.  Clocked at 85 in a 65 zone.  An everyday occurrence.  “Good morning sir”, I say in a strong clear unequivocal voice.  “The reason I stopped you was your speed.”  May I see your driver’s license, registration, and proof of insurance?”

After all is said and done I get a “thank you” from the driver.  I must say that it was a good first impression.  Working alone, one on one, the first impression of myself, of the speeder, of the interchange between us.  Maybe this is the job for me.

About calumetkid

Born in 1943, Calumet, Michigan. Love baseball, trains, chess, Lake Superior, the Law. State Trooper, Lawyer, Retired.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to One on One

  1. Well said. I’m so glad you had a good first encounter, and not one involving a really bad guy with a really bad gun.

    Like

Leave a comment