Knob Creek Farm

Although President, I am a farm boy at heart.

My cozy memories from time to time take me to back to Knob Creek in Kentucky. Even though I was just a young “whipper snapper”, no higher than corn on the fourth of July, I carried big jugs of water uphill to our stone house. Then gathered wood for Mama. In the evening, by the golden glow of those embers, I watched Mama’s face embellish an empyreal blush as she read the Bible. But sometimes, a sadness washed over her when she remembered my baby brother, who’d gone  to Heaven. I reckon she missed him, even though she was happy he was with God.

Sarah, my sister, and I planted everything from pumpkin seeds to corn seeds. We couldn’t wait to take that corn down to Hodgen’s Mill to be ground up into corn meal so Mama could make us her special corn fritters. On the way back, we’d meet up with Daddy by the stream fishing.  “Got some big ones to fry up to go with them fritters,”  he’d say.

Now, I digressed –back to writing that Gettysburg Address.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knob Creek Farm

  1. santeach says:

    Interesting approach. An enjoyable read. Hopefully the man himself had fond memories from his childhood.

    Like

  2. Teresa Kaye says:

    I liked the contrasts of the Presidency and those childhood memories. It illustrates that we are all a product of our pasts…

    Like

  3. jrowe2328 says:

    Reads like the start of a very good book!

    Like

  4. I loved your putting the story in first person, as if written by Lincoln. I reckon he’d have liked it too.

    Like

  5. marcsacher says:

    Very nice job of putting yourself in his shoes. The memory followed by the context of writing the famous address works beautifully.

    Like

  6. leeroc2 says:

    Great job. Loved the roots story. What a nightmare he had to endure. I hope he could hold those memories during his long ordeal.
    Lee

    Like

Leave a comment