It is not for nothing that this season is forever called fall.

(For my daughter, Melissa, on her Birthday).

It is not for nothing that this season is forever called fall.

Leaves, of all shapes, sizes, and hues, fluttered aimlessly to the ground,

While the odds of a sane candidate winning the election, went down the tubes.

Maybe, Henny-Penny was right, after all, and the sky is really falling.

Like the crushed, crumbling leaves on my curb, our feelings have fallen.

The colossal effort to fight Climate Change may be sinking to ruins,

Chances for continuance of health and education programs and world peace wither

Cruelty, carnage, and corruption cram CNN, newscasts and crowd our contemplations

Stop! Let’s converge with clarity, precisely on the positive and gaze at what gives us gladness!

I might mention the positive prospects from downsizing and moving to Leisure World

Although the pleasure of this outcome is a bit shaded now by the stress of the move

Let’s explore the exploits that I plan to pursue in Pelican Preserve.

With its sweltering sun, green grass, and brimming birds, biding in the blue sky

I could think about the, unusually, warm fall and the stunning sunsets and mammoth moon.

I might add Thanksgiving, and our home filled for last time with our loving family.

My thoughts are drawn to Mitzi and our wonderful children and grandchildren

How lucky am I to be linked to the love swirling among all our family and friends!

It is not for nothing, Melissa, that, in this season, too, I fall in love with you.

Happy Birthday and always be guided by love and pursuing goodness!

© Norman F. Estrin, November 12, 2016, It is Not for Nothing

About normestrin

I enjoy creating sculptures, drawings, paintings, poetry, prose, and new ideas. I also enjoy playing tennis, ping pong, and using my sense of humor. My career was in the trade association field, creating new programs, books, and conferences to meet the needs of certain industries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It is not for nothing that this season is forever called fall.

  1. gepawh says:

    Life, unfurled in your prose. One feels your monetary melancholy, and rejoices in your celebrations!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. calumetkid says:

    The vicissitudes of living, personally felt, and revealed. The seasons can do that to us. I liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a sweet piece. Your family is fortunate to have such a sensitive man in its midst.

    Like

  4. jrowe2328 says:

    Ah, fear and loathing overcome by love and reason (at least in our minds)! Nothing eases our mind like moving to those things that make our soul sing, for you, Mitzi, Melissa and family!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment