Ode to George

He has a way with words for sure

at the “turn of phrase” he excels.

His inspiration moves us all

with his words a story tells.

I am lucky once again in life

to have met such a wordy guy

His postings and his poem store

is something I would buy.

He is selfish in a positive way

“in my opinion” when he claims

to have viewed a certain subject

with aplomb and singular aims.

His past is separate from his current theme

by miles, years, and space.

But integrity and honesty

is always on his face.

He is fearless in his mannerisms

as he explains his take on “this”.

It inspires others to up their cause

to gain some sort of bliss.

So I tip my hat, and raise my glass

to the wordsmith in our group

who throws his words into the wind

where they settle in the realm called “class”.

About calumetkid

Born in 1943, Calumet, Michigan. Love baseball, trains, chess, Lake Superior, the Law. State Trooper, Lawyer, Retired.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ode to George

  1. I love your poetry! It’s always insightful and most often amusing. Keep writing! (And you did capture your quarry.)

    Like

  2. gepawh says:

    I am beyond humbled, your kind words in poetry no less, move me…..speechless. Please do not ever underestimate your own “brilliant phrases!”

    Like

  3. cocowriter says:

    You did it! “Happy words!”

    Like

  4. leeroc2 says:

    You tip your hat and raiseyour glass but a true fan would “light one up” for our favorite writer!
    Great job…Lee

    Like

Leave a comment