My Mentor

When I inquired, you spent time.

When I returned, you used my name.

When I enrolled, you oriented me.

When I asked, you advised.

When I was troubled, you listened.

When I erred, you challenged.

When I loafed, you challenged.

When I was discouraged, you challenged.

When the job opened, you recommended.

When they showed interest, you coached.

When they offered, you encouraged.

I owe you much, but more – –

Through me, others owe.

 

My mentor 4-8-16

Duane Acker

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. jrowe2328 says:

    Excellent! I really like that you paid back by emulating.

    Like

  2. santeach says:

    Well chosen words speak volumes – a great job defining the many roles of your mentor. Your last two lines are quite a tribute to this individual.

    Like

Leave a comment